These Things Do Not Go Unnoticed

4

September 29, 2015 by Julia

We are surrounded by imbalanced relationships that might drive us crazy even when we aren’t part of them. Have you ever overheard a one-sided conversation at your local coffee shop, the kind where you just have to wonder how the nearly silent friend puts up with the self-absorption of the endlessly prattling woman across from her? I find it really distracting, as well as painfully obvious to anyone outside of the conversation.

But maybe that listening friend is okay with it. Maybe she’s had her turn. Maybe she knows her rambling friend has had a rough week, and just needs to dump it all. Maybe the quiet, listening one is enjoying her coffee, and is happy to sit back and let her friend talk, because she’s too tired to think of anything to say. Only she knows for sure. (I’ve been on both sides of a conversation; chances are, you have too.) In the end, what matters is that each friend’s needs are being met over the course of their friendship. And the needs of two people can be met in unexpected, seemingly imbalanced ways.

Credit: Winding Wool by Gretchen, found on Flickr at https://www.flickr.com/photos/muddlepud/5512562215/

Credit: Winding Wool by Gretchen, found on Flickr at https://www.flickr.com/photos/muddlepud/5512562215/

I am learning to think of marriage and partnership the same way. I’ve kept score for most of my life, out of a desire to keep things fair not just for me, but for the other person. Part of this impulse comes from my need to justify any “break” I get from work. If I’ve counted how many hours a week Dennis has to himself, free from the typical family responsibilities, I then feel okay taking a break for the same amount of hours. If he goes away for a weekend, I feel okay planning my own getaway. This kind of score-keeping is not terrible, as long as it’s generous and vague rather than petty. Score-keeping can quickly turn toxic though, when you start to feel as though you are doing more work than your partner, and you feel the need to prove it to him or her. Most of us fall into the passive-aggressive approach with snide comments and loud sighs, while the braver of us take the plain-aggressive “here’s my tally, you are clearly not pulling your own weight!” approach.

And then the other person pulls out their tally, and you both have to sit down with spreadsheets and timecards and take into consideration the levels of physical and mental health you were both dealing with at the time the work was performed, as well as measure the stress levels, boredom levels, physical demands, interest level, and then dock points if part of it was enjoyed, or fulfilled some aspect of your life dreams. Because if you’re enjoying it, does it count? Also, results: how much did you produce from all of this work? What do you have to show at the end of the day?

And after all that, you still can’t objectively say whether the work done is equal – not unless you were doing the exact same work for the same amount of time and share the exact same personalities and life situations. Umm…doesn’t sound like a very appealing partnership. Sounds like a sci-fi novel, set in an dystopian future where people forget how to act like people.

There is another way.

Ask yourself: am I getting what I need out of this relationship? Not: are they working as hard as I am?

Because it’s impossible to say who is working harder. And besides, it doesn’t freaking matter. IT DOESN’T FREAKING MATTER.

This is what matters: Can we use our complimentary abilities to work together to reach our goals? Do we feel respected, secure, and cherished? Am I able to ask for and then receive what I most need from this relationship? Am I able to give to my partner what he or she most needs?

When we bring it back into the realm of our personal needs and desires, we can stop pretending that there is some scientific method to this madness of making a life together. It becomes real again. We are flesh and blood, not machines. What I need might be a backrub. What Dennis might need is loose, unstructured playtime with the kids. What I needed was to quit my job and stay at home caring for our children, while he needed to work outside of the home. If those needs changed, we could switch roles for a while and see how that works for our family.

The goal is happiness and goodness, both in the times we are together and the times we are apart, over the long term. The goal is not perfectly balanced daily workloads. Because who gives a shit about that, at the end of the day? We have to trust that in a caring relationship, it will even out enough. Faith in your partner simplifies things. I just want him to be happy and I know he wants the same for me. We are glad for any opportunity to make that happen. I will sacrifice for him, and he will for me; he has done it time and again. It is a good thing to be needed.

So we mostly just pay attention to the fluctuations of strength and happiness, these days. I believe Dennis will do as much work as he is capable of (and sometimes more, until I remind him that sanity and rest are necessary, too), and I no longer try to prove to him that I worked my ass off at home all day with the kids, even if you can’t tell by looking at the house just yet. (Okay, I don’t do that as much.) Instead I take note of his level of exhaustion as well as my own, and use that as our directive for the rest of the evening. Any grace that I extend comes back to me eventually, just like love.

Plus, I just care about his well-being, regardless of what comes back to me. It’s good to acknowledge that feeling toward a spouse. It’s there for most of us, I think, but we often leave it in the background of our relationships, taking it for granted.

Credit: Artist Puuung, from the

Credit: Artist Puuung, from the “Love Is…” series found at https://www.facebook.com/puuung1

So if one of us forgets to take out the trash, or turn out the lights, or pay that bill, it is better to handle it ourselves, if we can in that moment, without resentment, knowing that we are making our lives better. These things do not go unnoticed. Dennis has developed a habit over the years of using a chair in our bedroom as his dresser – where he flings his assorted pants. I don’t really mind. I only recently started trying to keep our bedroom closet clean. But a few weeks ago, I noticed all of his shorts and pants on the chair and ottoman were folded. It touched me. It was a cute gesture of trying to keep our bedroom orderly. He asked me jokingly later if I’d noticed his efforts, and I said I had. These things do not go unnoticed. Do what you can.

4 thoughts on “These Things Do Not Go Unnoticed

  1. vjthurston says:

    How did you get so wise at such a tender age?!? What your talking about here is real love.

  2. awildfly says:

    This is such a real topic for women, and I’m glad you are willing to share this on the internets:) Most of the women I coach are my age with young children, and this comes up ALL the time (that and the perils of family meal planning/cooking are #1). In my own relationships I try to think of the example from Anthony Robbin’s work (who I don’t always jive with). He recommends if you are frustrated in not getting what you want out of a relationship, to focus on giving to that person, and that giving and extra effort will not go unnoticed by the other person. This will naturally lead to a reciprocal giving in a healthy relationship. Your example of the clothes folding reminded me of this. It’s a small thing, but a says everything at the same time. (of course that could get out of hand in an unhealthy relationship, and we also have to give to ourselves, but that’s a whole other topic…:) Also that bottom picture is too cute!

    • Julia says:

      Thank you, Cuz!! That’s interesting to hear about your clients – I’m not surprised. I think women’s work has been so ignored as “work,” historically, that it’s still hard for many of us to stop proving to everyone that we are in fact working our asses off…and thus the “keeping score” kicks in. Thank God for enlightened husbands like our own. 🙂

Leave a Reply

Julia

Mama-isms...and so much more!

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 485 other followers

Archives

Read Diverse Books

Let's Read The World

Discover

A daily selection of the best content published on WordPress, collected for you by humans who love to read.

Things We Like

a project by jessica gross

LaMonte M. Fowler

an indie author writing to stay sane

Kelsey L. Munger

writer. storyteller.

thecolorlilac.wordpress.com/

Social Justice | Pop Culture | Black Girl Magic

One Awkward Year

wow, this is awkward . . .

The Belle Jar

"Let me live, love and say it well in good sentences." - Sylvia Plath

Joy, Lovely Joy

Writing through mothering

Fucking Awesome Bulimics I Know

Kicking that pimp called Shame in the shins.

Fit and Feminist

Because it takes strong women to smash the patriarchy.

An Honest Mom

From the hip on mindfulness, parenting, feminism and homesteading.

PRONOIA BLOG

small shares from Pronoia Coaching

James Gillingham - Long Arm Films

Thinking thoughts and making films

Jennifer Keishin Armstrong

Writing for the Pop Culture Literate.

Ginger's Grocery

Come on in and browse. The biscuits were made fresh this morning, the Slush Puppie machine was just refilled with a new bottle of red syrup, and we have the biggest selection of bait this close to town.

tressiemc

some of us are brave

Music for Deckchairs

"In shadowy, silent distance grew the iceberg too": universities, technology, work and life

my name is elizabeth

stories about race, culture, and identity

Priss & Vinegar

Lawyer by trade. Writer at heart. Housewife by accident.

Angela Tucker

Blogger / Speaker / Educator

Candice Czubernat

A leading voice in the LGBTQ and Christian dialogue

Song of the Lark

Music, melodies, mutterings

Adventures of a Teacher Nerdfighter

Building a fifth grade classroom community around enthusiasm, creativity, and awesome.

afourytale

Motherhood and other musings

Ethan Yarbrough Writes

Stories. True, Fiction and Otherwise.

