Zen and the Art of Making Time to Play With Your Kids…or, Didn’t I Just Play With You Yesterday?

2

May 16, 2015 by Julia

I’ve been anxious about time lately. The to-do list in my head feels urgent, and it makes me crazy when my kids beg me to play with them in teary, pleading voices that I hear as accusatory: they dare to imply that I neglect them because I have to do laundry or the dishes!? It’s not the playing that I mind, necessarily – if I am relaxed enough and they aren’t fighting with each other I enjoy it – it’s the setting aside of my own agenda for theirs that is tough. Sometimes the idea of playing Dinosaurs vs. Transformers while a bunch of other responsibilities weigh on me is more than I can handle. Hell is a million half-finished projects and a messy house. When I’m in that unfinished, chaotic limbo, how am I supposed to drop it all and come up with an exciting narrative for Fiona’s dollhouse family? That would require enthusiasm.

“Mama Gives Up At Dinnertime”

Play feels like something you can’t cross off a list. It could go on forever, if you let it. It may produce nothing, teach no ethical lessons. It may be boring or physically demanding. And the kids know – THEY KNOW – if I am distracted. At least when I’m doing housework, I can zone out a bit. Most parents learn that housework is actually easier than playing, maybe because of how our adult brains work.

A large part of it is that with errands or chores, I’m ensuring my own break after the kids are in bed. I don’t want to be vacuuming up chip crumbs then. By that point in the day I want to enjoy my glass of red wine and a fulfilling, brain-engaging, soul-feeding activity such as writing, or reading a novel, or watching the latest quality product from HBO. Because I have desires, too – not just responsibilities! Is that so hard to imagine, children???

Just kidding. Of course it’s hard for them to imagine; Fiona is seven and Jack is three-and-a-half.

I do feel guilty, though, when I am doing household chores instead of playing with them. I fight the guilt, I protest it out loud. “What if I never washed your clothes?? I’m doing this for you! So don’t try to make me feel bad about it!” And then I feel more guilty for asking them to appreciate the most basic things I do for them – the things they should take for granted, at their ages.

I’m pretty sure there is nothing wrong with trying to get all the crappiest crap done while the kids are awake, like killing two birds with one stone (a less-than-angelic idiom to use when talking about the care of one’s own children, I am aware), but their agenda is just as important as mine. They’ve got a to-do list, too: Learn about the world. Get exercise. Explore. Have fun. Get some love. Try new things. What they need to learn through play is just as important as what I need to do in order to keep our family going. It may not always have to come first, but I feel better when I deliberately make time for it. This is where the guilt comes from when I don’t. I know the truth:

They want me – not just all the background stuff I do to make sure they’re fed and clothed. Not just me taking them cool, fun places. Me. And this time is precious. In the grand scheme of things, they will not want to play with me for that much longer.

14781269593_75e4806460_o 14758929214_2d86250b78_o 14738308886_314d89f265_o 14574569937_192893569e_o 14761035605_e3603cd6e1_n IMG_20150502_071449 IMG_20150430_134311 IMG_20150509_084520 IMG_20150512_181856

It leaves me in a place of constant evaluation of how to spend my time. I feel selfish, but I am still starving. I do so much for my family, and yet I am painfully aware of my shortcomings. Whose turn is it – mine or theirs? What should I do for the present moment? What must be done for the future? Who am I serving when I mulch the garden? I want to do right by everyone, including myself. I don’t know when to work and when to rest. Every choice seems to have such consequences. Jack asks me to snuggle on the couch with him while he and Fiona watch a cartoon, and I think, I can’t say no to that. I want to do that. The kids should see their mommy sit down and do nothing in their presence sometimes. But what does this mean for dinner? What about those emails? How much time will this rob from ‘my time’ after they’re in bed? (As though cuddling with Jack wasn’t exactly what I wanted to do, anyway.)

I did snuggle with Jack, and his warm soft cheek on mine brought my heart rate down. The stress drained out. I made a conscious decision not to look at my phone, to actually watch the show with them, and laugh at the right parts. It was wonderful, and I was glad I made that choice for those twenty minutes.

I wish I didn’t consider every block of twenty minutes so seriously, though. It’s quite a burden. I know I ask this on a fairly regular basis, but does everyone feel this way? I don’t think I’m so different from anyone else, but at the same time I wonder – are there people who don’t agonize so much? Are their lives better-lived than mine? How do you define better-lived? AHHHHHHHHH. Shut up, brain.

Could there be any more questions in this post, rhetorical or otherwise?

That’s me. I go through phases of desperate grasping for meaningful uses of my time. The worry about it decreases the enjoyment of anything, though. I wish I could make my inner waters like a still pond in a forest of pines, but I am choppy surf, coming and going.

Clearly, I need more moments of zen.

IMG_20150421_144353IMG_20150512_18335314738414126_27dc1ea647_o

Writing gets me there. So does yoga. So does focused, quality time with my family. I’m thinking a solid hour of quality playtime with the kids every day might be what we all need.

IMG_20150503_082030 IMG_20150502_092630

IMG_20150418_085919 IMG_20150507_085135 IMG_20150507_174525 IMG_20150507_141725 IMG_20150507_123904 IMG_20150418_124552IMG_20150513_130447 IMG_20150513_135732 IMG_20150515_162301

I will find a way, I will find the time, I will stop and breathe and hug. Even if I have to put it all on my ever-shifting daily to-do list.

IMG_20150506_121318

2 thoughts on “Zen and the Art of Making Time to Play With Your Kids…or, Didn’t I Just Play With You Yesterday?

  1. I know exactly what you mean about feeling restless because there is a never ending list of grown up chores to do but you can’t neglect play time with the kids either or you definitely won’t get any time to do anything without kids underfoot! So you might as well just settle in and enjoy the play time … but as adults we have grown out of playing so it’s an effort … but a rewarding effort … I hear you. 🙂

    • Julia says:

      Thank you for sharing your own experience – and for hearing mine! I am pretty convinced that sometimes we just have to commiserate until things start to make sense again. Clearing my head with this post helped me A LOT. 🙂 Thank you again for reading and taking the time to comment – hope you are well!

Leave a Reply

Julia

Mama-isms...and so much more!

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 496 other followers

Archives

Radical Discipleship

A Joint Project of Bartimaeus Cooperative Ministries and Word & World

Read Diverse Books

Let's Read The World

Discover

A daily selection of the best content published on WordPress, collected for you by humans who love to read.

Angela Barnett

Writer. Wig Wearer. Shame Buster.

Things We Like

a project by jessica gross

LaMonte M. Fowler

an indie author writing to stay sane

Kelsey L. Munger

writer. storyteller.

thecolorlilac.wordpress.com/

Social Justice | Pop Culture | Black Girl Magic

One Awkward Year

wow, this is awkward . . .

The Belle Jar

"Let me live, love and say it well in good sentences." - Sylvia Plath

Joy, Lovely Joy

Writing through mothering

Fucking Awesome Bulimics I Know

Kicking that pimp called Shame in the shins.

Fit and Feminist

Because it takes strong women to smash the patriarchy.

An Honest Mom

From the hip on mindfulness, parenting, feminism and homesteading.

PRONOIA BLOG

small shares from Pronoia Coaching

James Gillingham - Long Arm Films

Thinking thoughts and making films

Jennifer Keishin Armstrong

Writing for the Pop Culture Literate.

Ginger's Grocery

Come on in and browse. The biscuits were made fresh this morning, the Slush Puppie machine was just refilled with a new bottle of red syrup, and we have the biggest selection of bait this close to town.

tressiemc

some of us are brave

Music for Deckchairs

"In shadowy, silent distance grew the iceberg too": universities, technology, work and life

my name is elizabeth

stories about race, culture, and identity

Priss & Vinegar

Lawyer by trade. Writer at heart. Housewife by accident.

Angela Tucker

Blogger / Speaker / Educator

Candice Czubernat

A leading voice in the LGBTQ and Christian dialogue

Song of the Lark

Music, melodies, mutterings

Adventures of a Teacher Nerdfighter

Building a fifth grade classroom community around enthusiasm, creativity, and awesome.

