My Favorite Things + Links

3

August 1, 2014 by Julia

I’m reading The Art of Fielding by Chad Harbach right now, which is so, so good. It makes me want to write the author to tell him just how much I love his book. It’s about a supremely talented college baseball player and the fascinating, lovable people around him, and you would think I’d be bored by the sports, but I AM NOT. Baseball becomes art, and the people in this story are just so freaking strong and weak that I am rooting for all of them. It’s kind of like Friday Night Lights (the TV show) in that it’s more about humanity in all of our foolishness and work ethic and miraculous talent, and sports are just a part of that. But oh man, this has been a pleasure to read, and not even a guilty one, because it’s so well-written. My favorite kind of literature: simultaneously easy and smart, which I imagine might be tougher to pull off than snooty and smart, in the same way that dancers who make it look easy are the best dancers of all.

 

As a person who studied fine art but mostly loves to write, this was HILARIOUS to me. I’m pretty sure it would be hilarious to anyone, though. Frustrated Novelist No Good at Describing Hands 

Two inspiring (but not cheesy) articles on the difficulties of marriage and the simple things we can do to nurture our partnerships: Somebody’s got to pour that first glass of wine.and Masters of Love

#love quote

YEP

 

You can always count on Momastery for a reminder of how we are called to care for each other. This is How You Stop the World

This music video (featuring a bunch of celebrity women being goofy) is awesome and I dig the catchy song. I want to go to there. Jenny Lewis – Just One of the Guys

As a fan of Goodnight Moon, this intelligent analysis warmed my heart.

 

I am loving this fascinating series on Motherhood Around the World at A Cup of Jo.

Incredible Photos of People Living Off the Grid Who Abandoned Civilization for Life in the Wilderness

My new favorite blog is Wait But Why. It is hilarious, observant, and informative about a wide range of cultural subjects, both highbrow and lowbrow. (As I’ve said before, I’m pretty sure we need a little of both in order to live well-rounded lives.) The author, Tim Urban, is currently traveling by himself to Russia, Japan, Nigeria, Iraq and Greenland (sent there by readers who voted those countries as the top “oddest places” he could go) for the sole purpose of experiencing weird things and writing interesting posts about them. Fun, right?

Some memorable posts at Wait But Why:

The Bunny Manifesto (one of the funniest things I’ve read online)

7 Ways to Be Insufferable on Facebook

Mammoth

Taming the Mammoth: How to Stop Caring What Other People Think

 

I’ve been meaning to share one of my favorite films for a long time. It’s The New World, directed by Terence Malick and starring Colin Farrell (who is quite a good actor when he wants to be) and Christian Bale. I watched it by myself for the first time at home, maybe a year after its release, and it profoundly affected me. It is the story of John Smith and Pocahontas, and in true Malick fashion, it feels both utterly real and dreamlike at the same time. It is simply gorgeous. You should probably watch it by yourself, like I did, for the full experience. I actually teared up at the bittersweet beauty of the last main sequence, and when the credits rolled to the sounds of woodlands (without the accompaniment of music) I just sat there in awe for a while.

On that note, if you like haunting, sad, romantic songs that twist your heart up with their beauty, then these are for you:

Alice Bowman – Be Mine

Alice Bowman – Lead Me

.

Also, this:

Amy Poehler

Have a good weekend.

 

 

3 thoughts on “My Favorite Things + Links

  1. Wow! What a list of recommendations! Enough to keep me out of mischief for a long time. Hope you are very well Julia.

    • Julia says:

      Unless you define mischief as going down the rabbit hole of the internet instead of getting “real” work done…in which case I don’t think I’ve been very helpful! Hope you are well, too.

  2. Julia says:

    I mean: thank you, and you’re welcome! (I am working on the constant self-deprecation. As a Brit, I’m sure you understand. Although somehow you all pull it off much more charmingly!)

Leave a Reply

Julia

Mama-isms...and so much more!

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 494 other followers

Archives

Read Diverse Books

Let's Read The World

Discover

A daily selection of the best content published on WordPress, collected for you by humans who love to read.

Things We Like

a project by jessica gross

LaMonte M. Fowler

an indie author writing to stay sane

Kelsey L. Munger

writer. storyteller.

thecolorlilac.wordpress.com/

Social Justice | Pop Culture | Black Girl Magic

One Awkward Year

wow, this is awkward . . .

The Belle Jar

"Let me live, love and say it well in good sentences." - Sylvia Plath

Joy, Lovely Joy

Writing through mothering

Fucking Awesome Bulimics I Know

Kicking that pimp called Shame in the shins.

Fit and Feminist

Because it takes strong women to smash the patriarchy.

An Honest Mom

From the hip on mindfulness, parenting, feminism and homesteading.

PRONOIA BLOG

small shares from Pronoia Coaching

James Gillingham - Long Arm Films

Thinking thoughts and making films

Jennifer Keishin Armstrong

Writing for the Pop Culture Literate.

Ginger's Grocery

Come on in and browse. The biscuits were made fresh this morning, the Slush Puppie machine was just refilled with a new bottle of red syrup, and we have the biggest selection of bait this close to town.

tressiemc

some of us are brave

Music for Deckchairs

"In shadowy, silent distance grew the iceberg too": universities, technology, work and life

my name is elizabeth

stories about race, culture, and identity

Priss & Vinegar

Lawyer by trade. Writer at heart. Housewife by accident.

Angela Tucker

Blogger / Speaker / Educator

Candice Czubernat

A leading voice in the LGBTQ and Christian dialogue

Song of the Lark

Music, melodies, mutterings

Adventures of a Teacher Nerdfighter

Building a fifth grade classroom community around enthusiasm, creativity, and awesome.

afourytale

Motherhood and other musings

Ethan Yarbrough Writes

Stories. True, Fiction and Otherwise.

