Isolation, Tornadoes, and Other Truths of This Week

4

July 16, 2014 by Julia

Hey, guys.

 

I’ve been thinking a lot lately about the meaning of life. And how to be a good parent. And boredom. And finding a sense of purpose. You know, the little things.

We’ve had some trouble around here. Nothing major – just the usual troubles of life that seem to pile up at times. Refrigerator was broken last week. Car went kaput today. I pulled out a muscle in my back. Jack’s got a fever and all of our carefully laid plans for the week have been swept to the side so that he, Fiona and I can watch hours of TV and try to entertain ourselves at home, just the three of us, all day.

IMG_9651 14418757492_aeb14ed0dc_o 11015261574_5f14f9dbfd_o

 

Sound fun? It is, for maybe one day, if it’s different from your usual scenario. But we’re used to being home every day, and we obviously adore each other, but still. Self-imposed quarantine gets old quickly. And Dennis has had to work late. Extreme weather (flooding, tornadoes?!) struck during the exact hour of the kids’ gymnastics class, and then cleared up as soon as their class would have ended. I spend so much time planning out our days and weeks so that we have something to do. But tornadoes and fevers and cheap modern appliances scoff at those best-laid plans.

 

Ah well. I am trying to make the best of it. I feel like when Dennis and I were younger, or at least when we became homeowners, we were utterly shocked and stressed by every out-of-the-blue problem. We are not handy, and we do not enjoy fixing up the house. We would rather be artsy. When messes intrude upon our personal artsy time, we get very, very cranky, to the point of desperation.

 

But, with a little more age on us, we might be learning to roll with the punches better.

There is a little more experience with how this too shall pass. We are learning that we are capable of persevering, and doing good even when we feel depleted. I can embrace my children even when I am actually craving personal space, because I am it for them right now, as we while away the hours at home. I can reach out to friends who are struggling even when I am struggling, myself – really, is there any better time? I can allow myself to feel the pain of family members going through health scares and serious illnesses, and remember to reach out, because even when you don’t know what to say, just trying is what’s most needed. I can try. Me, the exhausted introvert. As long as I get my daily cry in (okay, maybe not daily, but close – it’s just for release, like yoga of the emotions), I can go on. Um, does that sound melodramatic? Well, it’s the truth.

 

Other truths: I feel isolated when I am stuck at home with the kids. I do my best to remain upbeat for them, but I panic in the morning when I realize we still have ten more hours to get through until bedtime. I want so badly to do right by them, to spend quality time with them – and I do. But I also lose my patience and get distracted and fail them, too.

And technology…I feel it on my back, all the time, clawing at me. All the emails and texts I need to respond to. The play dates to plan, always. It feels rude these days to not be available during every waking hour. Lack of response to a text or a Facebook tag or whatever can be interpreted as indifference or even anger. It’s so hard to tell what a person means when they aren’t in front of you! I wish there were more people in front of me. The bad news is that if I want to see people in front of me, I have to deal with the technology to reach out to them. So I spend hours doing that, and then half the time it doesn’t work out because that’s the way it goes with kids. And global warming. And badly made refrigerators from Best Buy.

 

Whatever happened to the Harvest Gold refrigerators that lasted thirty years?

 

So ugly it’s cute, like a pug

 

Source

I ask you that! While shaking my fists at the dark clouds in the sky that might, if we’re lucky, relieve us of this awful humidity.

4 thoughts on “Isolation, Tornadoes, and Other Truths of This Week

  1. Jill says:

    I feel the same way with the waking up and sometimes dreading the day …and the isolation…and the Facebook thing too … Your not alone!

  2. jackie moellers says:

    Hi Julie, How is your back? Is Jack still sick?

    We had the same trouble with refrigerators, I looked into it and found out that years ago the compressors were made in the USA that’s when they lasted 25-30 years, but now they are made in China and last only several years, if your lucky. So it doesn’t matter how much you pay for a refrig, there the same inside.

    See you soon. Jackie

  3. vjthurston says:

    Maybe you should put out a disclaimer through all of your social media venues saying that you are going to respond to all comments and requests once a day for 30 minutes and all those people waiting on a reply from you will soon “get it” that you have a life! (and a 6 and 3 year old!) People start to learn how often to expect a response from specific people. I mean, I kind of know if I send out an email who will respond that day and who I might hear in a few days. It’s all about expectations.

Leave a Reply

Julia

Mama-isms...and so much more!

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 496 other followers

Archives

Radical Discipleship

A Joint Project of Bartimaeus Cooperative Ministries and Word & World

Read Diverse Books

Let's Read The World

Discover

A daily selection of the best content published on WordPress, collected for you by humans who love to read.

Angela Barnett

Writer. Wig Wearer. Shame Buster.

Things We Like

a project by jessica gross

LaMonte M. Fowler

an indie author writing to stay sane

Kelsey L. Munger

writer. storyteller.

thecolorlilac.wordpress.com/

Social Justice | Pop Culture | Black Girl Magic

One Awkward Year

wow, this is awkward . . .

The Belle Jar

"Let me live, love and say it well in good sentences." - Sylvia Plath

Joy, Lovely Joy

Writing through mothering

Fucking Awesome Bulimics I Know

Kicking that pimp called Shame in the shins.

Fit and Feminist

Because it takes strong women to smash the patriarchy.

An Honest Mom

From the hip on mindfulness, parenting, feminism and homesteading.

PRONOIA BLOG

small shares from Pronoia Coaching

James Gillingham - Long Arm Films

Thinking thoughts and making films

Jennifer Keishin Armstrong

Writing for the Pop Culture Literate.

Ginger's Grocery

Come on in and browse. The biscuits were made fresh this morning, the Slush Puppie machine was just refilled with a new bottle of red syrup, and we have the biggest selection of bait this close to town.

tressiemc

some of us are brave

Music for Deckchairs

"In shadowy, silent distance grew the iceberg too": universities, technology, work and life

my name is elizabeth

stories about race, culture, and identity

Priss & Vinegar

Lawyer by trade. Writer at heart. Housewife by accident.

Angela Tucker

Blogger / Speaker / Educator

Candice Czubernat

A leading voice in the LGBTQ and Christian dialogue

Song of the Lark

Music, melodies, mutterings

Adventures of a Teacher Nerdfighter

Building a fifth grade classroom community around enthusiasm, creativity, and awesome.

