Today’s Life Lesson

Leave a comment

July 6, 2014 by Julia

While packing up for the local beach this morning, I made a simple resolution: do not get stressed out.

 

Ya’ll know how I feel about packing up the family for big outings or trips. It’s gotten easier since I decided this year to truly organize our house down to the roots. But it still takes a lot of concentration to think of everyone’s possible future needs, depending on their current food preferences, the weather, the planned activities, etc.

 

Anyway, once I made the resolution to stay calm as I prepared us for the beach, I was able to let other things go.

 

For instance, the kids were playing together as I put together our picnic lunch. After a while, they decided to go into the front yard and “help” the ants on the sidewalk to the grass (poor ants). But the kids had left their toys and breakfast dishes scattered around our living room. My first thought was: I need to call them back in here so they can clean up their own messes. If I don’t, I will be enabling their certain growth into irresponsible, entitled kids.

 

But then my second thought was…it’s so much easier to just pick it up myself. Maybe I don’t need to build their characters while also doing something that is usually stressful for me. I can take the easy way out on the character-building, this time, in the pursuit of my goal, which is to be a relaxed mom taking her kids to the beach for a day of fun.

 

I did an especially good job packing us up today, I must say. I went slow and steady and happy, and we got to the beach by a decent time, without any yelling. We lacked for nothing, and I had no trouble finding what we needed.

And the weather was perfect and the kids were thrilled and I thought: even if we don’t get Jack home by his usual nap time, everything will be okay. Look how much he is taking in – the water, the sky, the sand. I have nothing urgent to get home to. This is my life, with my beloved family, and we’re in a precious era of childhood. And time kind of just went away for a while, as it does when you’re on the beach, and you don’t have your phone or watch because it’s too sandy and wet. It makes me a kid again, jumping the waves with my daughter, and digging holes with my son. My mind goes blank and my senses are filled.

 

It was a revelation to me that maybe it’s too much to try to teach five different life lessons at once. If we’re trying to get out the door, I don’t need to also crack down on the sofa-hopping (as if that ship hasn’t sailed already), the name-calling, or the unhealthy eating. One thing at a time. Focus on the main task at hand, and let them figure stuff out on their own for a bit.

 

Today’s life lesson was this:

 

It is good to be outside on this beautiful earth with each other.

 

Tomorrow I will make them carry their breakfast dishes to the kitchen counter.

 

IMG_20140706_112738 IMG_20140706_120717 IMG_20140706_120735 IMG_20140706_120819 IMG_20140706_120843 IMG_20140706_122938 IMG_20140706_122940 IMG_20140706_122945 IMG_20140706_122948 IMG_20140706_123303

Leave a Reply

Julia

Mama-isms...and so much more!

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 494 other followers

Archives

Read Diverse Books

Let's Read The World

Discover

A daily selection of the best content published on WordPress, collected for you by humans who love to read.

Things We Like

a project by jessica gross

LaMonte M. Fowler

an indie author writing to stay sane

Kelsey L. Munger

writer. storyteller.

thecolorlilac.wordpress.com/

Social Justice | Pop Culture | Black Girl Magic

One Awkward Year

wow, this is awkward . . .

The Belle Jar

"Let me live, love and say it well in good sentences." - Sylvia Plath

Joy, Lovely Joy

Writing through mothering

Fucking Awesome Bulimics I Know

Kicking that pimp called Shame in the shins.

Fit and Feminist

Because it takes strong women to smash the patriarchy.

An Honest Mom

From the hip on mindfulness, parenting, feminism and homesteading.

PRONOIA BLOG

small shares from Pronoia Coaching

James Gillingham - Long Arm Films

Thinking thoughts and making films

Jennifer Keishin Armstrong

Writing for the Pop Culture Literate.

Ginger's Grocery

Come on in and browse. The biscuits were made fresh this morning, the Slush Puppie machine was just refilled with a new bottle of red syrup, and we have the biggest selection of bait this close to town.

tressiemc

some of us are brave

Music for Deckchairs

"In shadowy, silent distance grew the iceberg too": universities, technology, work and life

my name is elizabeth

stories about race, culture, and identity

Priss & Vinegar

Lawyer by trade. Writer at heart. Housewife by accident.

Angela Tucker

Blogger / Speaker / Educator

Candice Czubernat

A leading voice in the LGBTQ and Christian dialogue

Song of the Lark

Music, melodies, mutterings

Adventures of a Teacher Nerdfighter

Building a fifth grade classroom community around enthusiasm, creativity, and awesome.

afourytale

Motherhood and other musings

Ethan Yarbrough Writes

Stories. True, Fiction and Otherwise.

