The Two Dads I Know Best

Leave a comment

June 14, 2014 by Julia

When I was around twenty-four years old, newly married and stuck in a design job that filled me with unspeakable dread, my dad and I sat in a waiting room while my mom underwent surgery for breast cancer.

 

My mom did okay in surgery, and she survived the year of radiation and other hospital procedures, and she has been cancer-free for at least ten years, now. One of my biggest regrets is when she showed me her bald head in her bedroom during the radiation, and she started crying, and I didn’t hug her because I didn’t know how to in the moment. The thing about mothers and daughters is that the love goes so deep, and is so utterly complicated and dependent that sometimes we are paralyzed by it.

 

But this is about dads, for Father’s Day. Specifically, the two dads I know best – my own, and the father of my children, Dennis.

 

Hey, Dad – are you crying yet? Because I am! (I am blessed to have a softie for a father.)

 

Anyway. My dad and I had time to kill in the hospital waiting room, but for obvious reasons, it was heavy time. It wasn’t just a lazy afternoon.

 

I don’t remember how the conversation went, exactly, but somehow I ended up describing the woman I worked for, and how miserable I was in my job. I had interned at this residential interior design firm while I got my Bachelor’s in interior design and architecture, and it turned into a full-time job once I’d graduated, as expected. The problem was, the owner of the design firm was a terror.

 

Many of my classmates came and went, unwilling to put up with her fury and demands, her belittlement and micromanaging. Her handwriting was illegible, she was always late, she once asked a friend and co-worker of mine feed her a salad while driving to a client meeting. She was the kind of person who would put you on the spot in front of that client the second something went wrong, and turn you into the scapegoat. She didn’t care if it was awkward. She terrified me and crushed my soul, basically.

 

I learned her ways of doing design, but had no confidence in my own design instincts, because she ridiculed them. I walked on eggshells constantly, and rushed rushed rushed to the point that when friends opted to work for her (always temporarily, and against my advice) they said I was nearly unrecognizable. I didn’t take lunch breaks or phone calls. I never stopped moving. And yet she remarked that I was “more thorough than my peers, but also slower.”

 

The stress was so unbearable that I somehow negotiated her into giving me four-day work weeks, under the belief that it was so intense that five days would be too much. But I always felt that she wanted me on that fifth day. A phone call from her on one of my days off would drag me down to the underworld of dread. I couldn’t rest until I called her back. You know The Devil Wears Prada movie? I was her Anne Hathaway.

 

Until my dad helped me to realize it was time to quit, finally. We were sitting in that hospital waiting room.

 

He didn’t tell me to quit. He asked me questions until I knew that it was time.

 

Again, I don’t remember the exact conversation. I just remember his patience, and his common sense, and his way of guiding me back to the truth and myself. There were questions like, “What would happen if you quit, even with no other job prospects?” and simple questions like, “Why do you stay if it makes you so unhappy?”

 

And then I just knew. I left the hospital that day with a calm resolve to tell my boss that I had decided to quit. It just had to be done, even if I ended up jobless. Dennis was making enough that although our finances would be tight, we could pay our bills until I found a new job. Somehow, I started to believe that maybe not all jobs are this bad; maybe I could be happier somewhere else.

 

My dad was studying coaching at the time, I think, which helped. But he’s always had that gentle, respectful, thoughtful approach. I am grateful for that talk, because I did follow through and quit that job, which I still have nightmares about to this day. I feel blessed to have him as a father.

 

There is a certain pride we like to have in our fathers, which I have – he is a transcendently gifted classical pianist, he is almost always the tallest person in the room, at 6’-6,” he has a laid-back, intelligent, artistic persona, his name is Viscount, for crap’s sake. But he wasn’t a distant father, to be looked up to but not spoken to. He was honest with us as kids, and we were with him. He is goofy and easy and kind. I think we analyze things the same way, and we are both drawn to studies of human nature, to texts of philosophy and spirituality and soulfulness, as well as literature. I am a very lucky daughter.

 

Now, Dennis holds a grudge about that story, because he was telling me to quit that job for months before my dad had that one memorable talk with me. He likes to quip, “Well, maybe if your dad tells you to do it, you will,” and it’s become a joke.

 

Speaking of great dads…and Dennis…

IMG_7234 11809411875_aeb7649d11_o (1) IMG_6663 IMG_1216 IMG_0988 IMG_5579 6428454545_1f4d9a2dfd_o 6078285796_794f125c90_o 3544554702_b86038aa34_o 3832234766_d4c6551432_o IMG_5594

You know what one of the best things in the world is? When you overhear your co-parent with your children, and they are laughing and running around and giddy with delight. Both the parent and the child.

 

He just started drawing lessons with Fiona today. It’s something they have in common, this love for plain pencil and paper. She never liked coloring books – she’d rather start from scratch. It’s all about the expressions on faces, and the storytelling, and showing personality. Kind of like her father, the animator.

 

And Jack. He gets tossed out of his dad’s arms like a cannonball, like a pebble from a slingshot, and he gets chased and wrestled and snuggled.

 

My husband is the best of all the worlds, when it comes to dads. He is a provider and protector, a playmate and a teacher, a caregiver. He models what a good man looks like, and he gives our children his time, his affection, his attention.

 

I love him dearly for it, among other things.

 

Happy Father’s Day to Dennis, and my dad, and all of the other good dads out there, sacrificing and working for your children, as well as delighting in them, and giving them the best parts of you.

IMG_5572 IMG_5590 IMG_5356 IMG_5286

Me and my sister Lisa

Me and my sister Lisa

IMG_2635

My father-in-law, a wonderful grandparent to the kids

IMG_5566

Mom and Dad with Jack

IMG_2561 IMG_9796 IMG_1645 IMG_3094 IMG_8255 3543692529_ac96c2f970_o IMG_5567

Leave a Reply

Julia

Mama-isms...and so much more!

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 496 other followers

Archives

Radical Discipleship

A Joint Project of Bartimaeus Cooperative Ministries and Word & World

Read Diverse Books

Let's Read The World

Discover

A daily selection of the best content published on WordPress, collected for you by humans who love to read.

Angela Barnett

Writer. Wig Wearer. Shame Buster.

Things We Like

a project by jessica gross

LaMonte M. Fowler

an indie author writing to stay sane

Kelsey L. Munger

writer. storyteller.

thecolorlilac.wordpress.com/

Social Justice | Pop Culture | Black Girl Magic

One Awkward Year

wow, this is awkward . . .

The Belle Jar

"Let me live, love and say it well in good sentences." - Sylvia Plath

Joy, Lovely Joy

Writing through mothering

Fucking Awesome Bulimics I Know

Kicking that pimp called Shame in the shins.

Fit and Feminist

Because it takes strong women to smash the patriarchy.

An Honest Mom

From the hip on mindfulness, parenting, feminism and homesteading.

PRONOIA BLOG

small shares from Pronoia Coaching

James Gillingham - Long Arm Films

Thinking thoughts and making films

Jennifer Keishin Armstrong

Writing for the Pop Culture Literate.

Ginger's Grocery

Come on in and browse. The biscuits were made fresh this morning, the Slush Puppie machine was just refilled with a new bottle of red syrup, and we have the biggest selection of bait this close to town.

tressiemc

some of us are brave

Music for Deckchairs

"In shadowy, silent distance grew the iceberg too": universities, technology, work and life

my name is elizabeth

stories about race, culture, and identity

Priss & Vinegar

Lawyer by trade. Writer at heart. Housewife by accident.

Angela Tucker

Blogger / Speaker / Educator

Candice Czubernat

A leading voice in the LGBTQ and Christian dialogue

Song of the Lark

Music, melodies, mutterings

Adventures of a Teacher Nerdfighter

Building a fifth grade classroom community around enthusiasm, creativity, and awesome.

