Actual Precious Moments

1

May 23, 2014 by Julia

I know a lot of parents feel that bedtime for the kids is one of the hardest parts of the day, but I’ve gotta say, if the teeth are brushed and all the wrangling and prep work are done, and we’re just lying in bed reading books and singing songs, it’s one of my favorite routines. To be fair, Dennis does it more often than I do, because I get up earlier than he does with the kids. But when I do have to put them to bed, usually once or twice a week, I cherish the quiet alone time with Fiona.

 

Lately she wants to hear stories from when I was young, and I try to give her the juicy ones, because that’s what she craves: drama. Tonight I told her one about how my friend Sarah and I performed ‘America the Beautiful’ with our girl scout troop on a stage at eight years old, and then a cute older boy came over and said something like, “Nice job, girls,” and we started giggling so hard we spewed lemonade everywhere. I have this written in my diary from the time, but it’s hard for me to imagine that it actually happened this way. I mean, who really spits out liquid in surprise? Anyway, Fiona was pleased, but she said, “Tell me another story with a problem!”

 

I try to tell her stories of how I struggled as a kid with things, of what scared me or upset me, because I hope that it will comfort her that I remember what it’s like. And I think it must be reassuring to see that I survived and turned out mildly okay. I remember knowing that my parents weren’t super popular in high school or models or model citizens, and I took great comfort in it, for whatever reason, as I struggled with acne and shyness and the usual angst. I think it must be hard to be a teen with parents who were the stars of their high schools. How could you live up to that? And how could you believe that they understand your problems, if you aren’t a teenage star?

 

Anyway, I decided tonight to tell her the story of when I read Where the Red Fern Grows at around eight years old. SPOILER ALERTS AHEAD. (It’s classic young adult fiction, so I don’t know if you really care, but just in case.) I began with a preamble about how much I loved reading and writing at such a young age, and isn’t it funny how I still love to read and write so much now? And the things you are interested in as kid will probably still interest you as an adult, I said. She took this in, but had no comment.

 

“Well, this was a chapter book, with no pictures, and it was long, like the books I read now, only it was for kids,” I said. “And it was about a boy with two dogs whom he loved very much, and they would go around in the woods and stuff. But then at the end, the dogs are attacked by a bear, and they both die.”

 

She gasped and looked worried. Actually, now that I’m writing this, I can’t even remember if that is how the dogs die. I just KNOW that they die, okay? Before their time. It’s not of old age. It’s tragic. They’re hounds. And I think one is named Annie. They might be brother and sister.

 

“When I finished the book,” I went on, “I was so sad that I went out into our backyard, and – there was a basketball court in our old yard, and I got my bike out and rode in circles on the court, crying for a long time. And my mom could see me through the kitchen window, just going in circles and crying.”

Pause.

“And then I came inside and said ‘That was my most favorite book ever.’”

 

Fiona started laughing hysterically. “You said it was your favorite?” she said. Suddenly I felt like if were both young girls at the same time, we would have been good friends, and I almost told her so, but we were laughing too hard.

 

“And I still like sad books as a grown-up!” I exclaimed. “If I read a book with a sad ending that makes me cry, I think that means it’s a good book, and I might think it’s one of my favorites!”

 

“You LIKE to cry!” she said, still giggling.

 

“Yep,” I said.

 

And then we sang My Favorite Things, only customized to her daddy, because we’ve been doing alternate versions for our family members. It’s really fun. I recommend it.

 

I also recommend having children, because you get to have actual precious moments that are way better than the cheesy figurines that were so popular in the 80’s and 90’s.

1312384790-669933b4d99700ed672e4ff322625cb9

Source

 

One thought on “Actual Precious Moments

  1. kathyk11 says:

    I love your Blogs!! (BTW who thought up the name “Blog”. “Bling” sounds more upbeat & positive. Or something else that doesn’t make me think of Eyore (SP?) from Winnie the Pooh).

Leave a Reply

Julia

Mama-isms...and so much more!

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 476 other followers

Archives

Read Diverse Books

Let's Read The World

Discover

A daily selection of the best content published on WordPress, collected for you by humans who love to read.

Things We Like

a project by jessica gross

LaMonte M. Fowler

an indie author writing to stay sane

Kelsey L. Munger

writer. storyteller.

thecolorlilac.wordpress.com/

Social Justice | Pop Culture | Black Girl Magic

One Awkward Year

wow, this is awkward . . .

The Belle Jar

"Let me live, love and say it well in good sentences." - Sylvia Plath

Joy, Lovely Joy

Writing through mothering

Fucking Awesome Bulimics I Know

Kicking that pimp called Shame in the shins.

Fit and Feminist

Because it takes strong women to smash the patriarchy.

An Honest Mom

From the hip on mindfulness, parenting, feminism and homesteading.

PRONOIA BLOG

small shares from Pronoia Coaching

James Gillingham - Long Arm Films

Thinking thoughts and making films

Jennifer Keishin Armstrong

Writer, Teacher, Pop Culture Nerd.

Salad At Midnight

Real Life, Real Conversations

Ginger's Grocery

Come on in and browse. The biscuits were made fresh this morning, the Slush Puppie machine was just refilled with a new bottle of red syrup, and we have the biggest selection of bait this close to town.

tressiemc

some of us are brave

Music for Deckchairs

"In shadowy, silent distance grew the iceberg too": universities, technology, work and life

my name is elizabeth

stories about race, culture, and identity

Priss & Vinegar

Lawyer by trade. Writer at heart. Housewife by accident.

Angela Tucker

Blogger / Speaker / Educator

Candice Czubernat

A leading voice in the LGBTQ and Christian dialogue

Song of the Lark

Music, melodies, mutterings

Adventures of a Teacher Nerdfighter

Building a fifth grade classroom community around enthusiasm, creativity, and awesome.

afourytale

Motherhood and other musings

