Uplifting #2

2

May 2, 2014 by Julia

Hiiiii everybody. I’m going to the beach alone this weekend, and although I’ve been a little scared to actually check the forecast, given the monsoon rains we’ve endured this week, in truth I hardly care if it rains, because I will have books and food and shops and sleep and I can stare meaningfully at the churning waves as though I am in an art film (because who doesn’t secretly want to be a character in a film?). And I am beyond excited for this solo getaway, and feeling so grateful that I am able to go. I do not for one second take it for granted. (Side note: it has now been two days since I wrote this paragraph, and the weather is looking divine. Woo-hoo!)

I am so burnt out in this moment that I think it will be the perfect balm for my frazzled nerves. Seriously, I just need space. I need for small, theoretically adorable creatures to stop whining and/or screaming at me while screwing up my phone, attempting to pull off my new glasses and riffling through my wallet. All of that happened this morning before 7:30 a.m. We were up at 5:30 a.m., the scent of wasabi and soy sauce from last night’s takeout greeting us. Oh. And Jack pulled the water filter out of the refrigerator grate. Then he found my old previously lost driver’s license, and stuck it in the hole where the water filter goes. I mean…REALLY? How…why…where does he come up with stuff?

I am still feeling guilty that others I know (and don’t know) don’t have a similar opportunity to get away from it all, though. I feel as though I have to send as much goodwill and encouragement out into the world as possible, as a kind of payment for what I have been given. (Or, if I know you in person, I will watch your kids so you can go. Or start a fundraiser in your name. I am only half-joking, here. I mean, looking at it from an objective standpoint, some of you really need to get away more than I do, and I would love to make that happen if at all possible. Talk to me!)

I’ve been toying with the idea of making that first “Uplifting” post into an ongoing series – just a chance to share things I’ve found that have helped me, and might help you, too. Or art or articles or humor that I have enjoyed. I am SURE that this will be just as good for you as a weekend getaway to the beach, right?

All joking aside, I do love this stuff, and hope you also get something out of it. Have a wonderful weekend (please! So I don’t have to feel guilty about mine!)!

(Also: could there BE any more parenthesis in this post at this point??)

Here we go.

On Being Vulnerable:

I feel like posting lovely things today.

Shaky

Daring Greatly Brene Brown Quote

Truth.

 

On Being Weird:

 

"A little nonsense now and then, is relished by the wisest men." —Roald Dahl #quotes

♥ words of wisdom

Source

Being a geek.

Be wild and free and you. #momastery #carryonwarrior http://momastery.com/blog/

Motivation to keep going:

"A happy life consists not in the absence, but in the mastery of hardships." —Helen Keller #quotes

Accept then act.  #bloggingthetruth

YOU Matter  !!                                   There will always be someone who needs what you have to give.                         KushandWizdom - TheGoodVibe - Inspirational quotes

On approaching others with a generosity of spirit:

motivational and inspirational quotes about life.

More inspiration on https://www.facebook.com/VivaLaVidaLifestyle #inspiration #life #quote

Source

If we are patient and calm and we wear our perspectacles and we keep believing, we will eventually see the specific magic of each child. #CarryOnParents #ParentsMagazine - See more at: http://momastery.com/blog/2014/03/18/child-gifted-talented-single-one/#sthash.Kr6RVhuW.dpuf

"When one loves, one does not calculate." —Saint Thérèse of Lisieux #quotes

 

Other stuff worth looking at:

I love Jon Klassen’s illustrations for children’s books. I first discovered his work in a book Fiona and I love, called “Extra Yarn” by Mac Barnett, which is now a Caldecott winner.

 

I recommend checking out all of Jon Klassen’s gorgeous work on his Tumblr page here.

These Hyper-Minimalist Takes on Children’s Classics by Christian Jackson make me smile, too.

Um, I’m not so into cat pictures online, but guinea pigs are a different story. Thanks to Emily for sending The 24 Most Important Guinea Pigs in the Entire World. She knows how much guinea pigs mean to me.

I can hardly express how much I love the idea of this Literary Jukebox. Just discovered it, so am still exploring.

You may have already read this amazing post from Momastery about her son’s teacher’s method for dealing with social conflict in her classroom – it went viral, with good reason. Had to share it in honor of National Teacher Day this upcoming Tuesday.

I find this interview of a recovered (ing?) bulimic unexpectedly encouraging in its honesty about women and body image.

Racial injustice and segregation in America is something I think about quite a lot, but not nearly with the eloquence and life experience that Mellody Hobsen shows here. Be color brave, not color blind.

And last but not least, I relate to this on so many levels. And I am also 35! The “Can’t Also” Crisis and Sorting Out Identity Issues at 35 Years Old…

Love and hugs, people. Seacrest out!

3544500634_503714c62c_o

Where I’m headed.

 

 

 

2 thoughts on “Uplifting #2

  1. This is so lovely – hope you had an amazing, restorative weekend…can’t wait to read all about it!

    • Julia says:

      It was great, thanks! I was hoping that a description of the weekend away wouldn’t be too boring. I’ll try to make it better than the old “look at these vacation slides” cliche. 🙂

Leave a Reply

Julia

Mama-isms...and so much more!

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 485 other followers

Archives

Read Diverse Books

Let's Read The World

Discover

A daily selection of the best content published on WordPress, collected for you by humans who love to read.

Things We Like

a project by jessica gross

LaMonte M. Fowler

an indie author writing to stay sane

Kelsey L. Munger

writer. storyteller.

thecolorlilac.wordpress.com/

Social Justice | Pop Culture | Black Girl Magic

One Awkward Year

wow, this is awkward . . .

The Belle Jar

"Let me live, love and say it well in good sentences." - Sylvia Plath

Joy, Lovely Joy

Writing through mothering

Fucking Awesome Bulimics I Know

Kicking that pimp called Shame in the shins.

Fit and Feminist

Because it takes strong women to smash the patriarchy.

An Honest Mom

From the hip on mindfulness, parenting, feminism and homesteading.

PRONOIA BLOG

small shares from Pronoia Coaching

James Gillingham - Long Arm Films

Thinking thoughts and making films

Jennifer Keishin Armstrong

Writing for the Pop Culture Literate.

Ginger's Grocery

Come on in and browse. The biscuits were made fresh this morning, the Slush Puppie machine was just refilled with a new bottle of red syrup, and we have the biggest selection of bait this close to town.

tressiemc

some of us are brave

Music for Deckchairs

"In shadowy, silent distance grew the iceberg too": universities, technology, work and life

my name is elizabeth

stories about race, culture, and identity

Priss & Vinegar

Lawyer by trade. Writer at heart. Housewife by accident.

Angela Tucker

Blogger / Speaker / Educator

Candice Czubernat

A leading voice in the LGBTQ and Christian dialogue

Song of the Lark

Music, melodies, mutterings

Adventures of a Teacher Nerdfighter

Building a fifth grade classroom community around enthusiasm, creativity, and awesome.

afourytale

Motherhood and other musings

Ethan Yarbrough Writes

Stories. True, Fiction and Otherwise.

