Guys, I’m Confused, Part 1: Health and Weight-Loss

11

April 12, 2014 by Julia

Welcome to my new series, in which I don’t have to pretend like I know everything! Isn’t it great? I don’t think I was trying to fool anyone before, but now I can really expose the internal conflicts that make me who I am. (Because the world MUST know who I am.) I’m gonna let it all hang out. No spanx here, folks.

 

Which is an excellent segue into my first topic of confusion:

 

FAT. AND FEMINISM. AND HEALTHY BODY IMAGE. AND HEALTH. AND SELF-ACCEPTANCE. AND JUST WANTING TO FIT INTO MY NORMAL-SIZED JEANS AGAIN. BUT SELF-ACCEPTANCE. BUT WANTING TO LOSE 15 LBS SO I DON’T FEEL FLABBY AND UNCOMFORTABLE IN MY OWN SKIN. BUT NOT WANTING TO DIET. BUT….sheesh.

 

You get it. I should mention here that one of my most-viewed posts (over a year later) is about how I refuse to go on a diet. It’s follow-up is also pretty popular. (By popular I mean, oh – one person searched for “tired of diets” and read that one today!)

 

The problem is, there are so many things I believe in theory, which is part of my argument against dieting:

 

-Dieting often has more to do with appearance and vanity than actual health. I am just slightly overweight, which probably doesn’t affect my life span or the functioning of my vital organs much. I do yoga almost every day, and I’m on my feet more often than not, chasing kids around and cleaning, so I’m sort of fit. I eat fruits and vegetables as well as some junk food. There are hardly any noble health reasons for me to lose weight.

– Women Have Suffered Big Time because of society’s expectations of what their bodies should look like, and That Pisses Me Off and Yes, I Can Capitalize Whatever I Deem Worthy of Capitalization.

– Dieting doesn’t really work in the long term – only lifestyle changes do

– I don’t want to surrender a large portion of my waking thoughts to the avoidance of or ultra-careful portioning of food. I have more interesting, fun, and important things to devote myself to.

 

And I do believe the above statements wholeheartedly.

 

But I am tired of hating how I look in photos, and how I feel in my clothes. There, I said it. I can forget most of the time to worry about my appearance, but sometimes I just feel…hideous. That is the word that comes to mind, for real. And I know I’m not the only one who thinks this way about themselves.

1557130_10151925952195735_2092283097_o (2)

1796516_10151925952190735_723192102_n

Holding a friend’s baby this past January

11762972796_b781267c02_o

A year ago, but I basically look the same now.

IMG_6954

This one’s not hideous, I suppose. This is last fall.

IMG_8818

Karaoke a month ago! I can sing, but I have NO IDEA how to perform

 

I believe that other “average” or “plus”-sized women can be sexy and beautiful, but I struggle to believe that about myself when I can grab the flab of my post-two-babies belly and basically throw it on the kitchen counter like a slab of meat. It would be so easy to cut off, or liposuction away. It’s just this useless jello. If there was some function for the flab maybe it would be different. But as it is, it just gets in the way, and I have to figure out every morning how I will attempt to hide it, or just decide to not care that I look like I’m in the first stages of pregnancy.

 

That’s the other thing – it sucks trying to get dressed! Things just don’t look good. Clothes are made for either middle-aged frumps or models, it seems, and there’s not much in between. The line of what looks decent on me has gotten thinner and thinner, and I’m tired of trying to walk it. I would like to throw on a t-shirt and jeans and not give a second thought to how bad the muffin top is. Doesn’t that sound like freedom, like heaven? I want to be able to wear the things I like, and not worry that I look ridiculous in them.

 

I feel like I’ve been stuck in this head (and body) space since I gave birth to Jack 2 ½ years ago. Before getting pregnant with him, I was happy with my eating and my weight; I felt neither deprived nor overweight. I splurged sometimes, but also ate in moderation, without much effort. I had many flaws, but felt good enough in appearance…which is such a rare place for me. I don’t want to be hot, not really. I just want to be myself, and feel like I am attractive enough. I don’t need to get down to my minimum weight, just my middle weight.

 

And I keep waiting for it to happen naturally, and it just hasn’t. So I think I need to change something about the way I eat. And I’m confused about where to start. Okay, I’ve already started, and I’ve lost about 3 lbs in 3 weeks, which I think is a healthy weight-loss rate. But it’s tricky, navigating all this stuff and accepting myself and staying positive and deciding that I still want to change and that I might have to be hungry sometimes in order for that to happen.

 

Hunger isn’t all that bad, though, when you know you aren’t really going to go hungry. I will always have access to food. Sometimes it’s helpful to remind myself of that. Is that an unhealthy way to think?

 

See? I don’t know what I’m doing here.

 

And for the record, I know I’m not supposed to call myself hideous or anything else negative, but I have to be honest. The truth is, sometimes I feel pretty, too, but a lot less often these days. I used to be pretty. Not really anymore. (I’m not fishing for compliments here, just saying what I believe, true or not.) And many days I don’t care about how I look at all, because, really my current lifestyle doesn’t require a certain level of attractiveness, and beauty tips and fitness regimens and stuff kind of bores me.

 

It’s not all bad right now, though. I hope to continue to lose a little weight each week, and I think I can try to make the experience as positive as possible. I am interested in self-care and increasing one’s own well-being through healthy habits, and when I can look at weight loss through this lens, coupled with other things such as skin care and yoga, it helps to increase my self-regard, too. Sometimes you have to take the actions of a person of worth before you can convince yourself that you are a person of worth.

 

I wish it was easier. I wish I could say: “Girl power! I am beautiful just as I am!” and really believe it. Or, I wish I could just eat without thinking about it, and somehow end up where I am supposed to be, weight-wise. It’s just that our whole food culture and beauty culture and old biology (which probably questions why we have to force ourselves to exercise and starve and binge when it used to just be survival mode, simple, that’s it) – all combine to make a fucked-up mess for us to wade through, and I suppose it will always be a process.

 

I’m confused, but I do believe it will be okay, whatever happens.

 

I want to end with this quote by the astoundingly bright and talented Tavi Gavinson, teenaged creator of the web magazine Rookie. (I must give a shout-out here to my friend Krissy, who has been telling me about this website for over a year, and then compelled me to check out a Rookie “yearbook” at the library, which is finally when I realized how amazing the website and its creator is.) This is from Ms. Gavinson’s essay “How Not to Care What Other People Think of You.

 

“Feminism isn’t about pretending we all feel like Wonder Woman, it’s about being honest when we don’t, and having the conversation on why that is.”

 

I just love that.

 

Thanks for hearing me out in my confusion, guys, and I would love to hear about your experiences on this subject if you feel compelled to share them.

See, I KNOW she’s hot! Found on curvy-luscious.tumblr.com

 

 

11 thoughts on “Guys, I’m Confused, Part 1: Health and Weight-Loss

  1. […] Welcome to my new series, in which I don't have to pretend like I know everything! Isn't it great? I don't think I was trying to fool anyone before, but now I can really expose the internal conflicts that make me who I am. (Because … healthy weight loss – Google Blog Search […]

  2. afourytale says:

    Thank you, Julia for writing all the words I feel and think every day! I adore this post.

    I can so empathize with how you feel. I just want to put on a jeans and T-shirt and be attractive enough.

    By the way the pictures of you are gorgeous. I think we have a really hard time seeing ourselves the way others see us.

    Keep letting it all hang out. No spanx = AWESOMENESS! ( I also love capitals).

    XOXO – Michelle

    • Julia says:

      Thank you SO much, Michelle! That means a lot to me. Sometimes I think we get so caught up in trying to force self-acceptance and girl power that we forget that we still have to air out our insecurities every once in a while. It was so cathartic for me to write this, and to read a response like yours. HIGH FIVE! 🙂

  3. So true and my heart goes out to you. Health is definitely more important that weight loss. I once counseled a 109 lb professional ballerina who had to lose 10 lbs in order to remain in her troupe. There was no way her body could sustain that! Humans are out of control for someone’s worldly life view. I prefer to live vibrantly and alive!

    It is not easy but health can be sustained if one eats sensibly. Anything is fine in moderation and God advised us to eat fruits, vegetables, nuts, seeds, whole grains and lean meat. (But there is no money in that and “diet gurus” claim they have a new answer. Just buy there book, 🙂 Blessings to your success,

  4. (Whoops, I R an writer, ha! “their” not there, 🙂 )

  5. vjthurston says:

    I know I’m biased and it might not help to hear good ole’ mom say it–but, you ARE gorgeous! And I’m not just saying gorgeous in the “look at her beautiful spirit shine through” sense, which is what I always take as another way to say “she’s really lumpy and frumpy looking, but look at that smile”. Lucky you has both looks and the beautiful spirit!

    The real question for me is, “how do I counteract everything that tells me what a beautiful woman should look like, when we are CONSTANTLY bombarded with the supermodels skinny-mini photoshopped images everywhere we look?” This is a real question–does anyone have an answer for me?

    • Julia says:

      I guess it’s just a never-ending process of opening our minds beyond what the media tells us (oh no, I’m starting to sound like Fox news!!) And thanks for the compliments, ma. 🙂

  6. I am so late to the party here but thank you SO much for sharing this. I am totally with you and I love that quote from Tavi. I don’t have the answers to your questions but I do believe that just getting started, putting your thoughts out there, is the first step. I often find myself in that weird middle ground of Pissed Off Because of Society but also I Want To Look Hot For Society So Sue Me If I’m a Terrible Feminist (I clearly subscribe to your capitalization code haha) and it IS such a muddling place to be.

    Basically, I think you’re a stunner and I’m so happy you shared this and PREACH SISTER.

    • Julia says:

      Oh Liz, you can come to any party of mine at any time!! Thank you as always for encouraging me and making me laugh with your comments!!

Leave a Reply

Julia

Mama-isms...and so much more!

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 494 other followers

Archives

Read Diverse Books

Let's Read The World

Discover

A daily selection of the best content published on WordPress, collected for you by humans who love to read.

Things We Like

a project by jessica gross

LaMonte M. Fowler

an indie author writing to stay sane

Kelsey L. Munger

writer. storyteller.

thecolorlilac.wordpress.com/

Social Justice | Pop Culture | Black Girl Magic

One Awkward Year

wow, this is awkward . . .

The Belle Jar

"Let me live, love and say it well in good sentences." - Sylvia Plath

Joy, Lovely Joy

Writing through mothering

Fucking Awesome Bulimics I Know

Kicking that pimp called Shame in the shins.

Fit and Feminist

Because it takes strong women to smash the patriarchy.

An Honest Mom

From the hip on mindfulness, parenting, feminism and homesteading.

PRONOIA BLOG

small shares from Pronoia Coaching

James Gillingham - Long Arm Films

Thinking thoughts and making films

Jennifer Keishin Armstrong

Writing for the Pop Culture Literate.

Ginger's Grocery

Come on in and browse. The biscuits were made fresh this morning, the Slush Puppie machine was just refilled with a new bottle of red syrup, and we have the biggest selection of bait this close to town.

tressiemc

some of us are brave

Music for Deckchairs

"In shadowy, silent distance grew the iceberg too": universities, technology, work and life

my name is elizabeth

stories about race, culture, and identity

Priss & Vinegar

Lawyer by trade. Writer at heart. Housewife by accident.

Angela Tucker

Blogger / Speaker / Educator

Candice Czubernat

A leading voice in the LGBTQ and Christian dialogue

Song of the Lark

Music, melodies, mutterings

Adventures of a Teacher Nerdfighter

Building a fifth grade classroom community around enthusiasm, creativity, and awesome.

afourytale

Motherhood and other musings

Ethan Yarbrough Writes

Stories. True, Fiction and Otherwise.

