2 Things I’ve Learned in 10 Years of Marriage

23

December 5, 2013 by Julia

Our tenth wedding anniversary is tomorrow, and I’ve been wanting to write about what I’ve learned in our ten years of marriage. You know, like a cute list, which should basically write itself because I’m already working with the number ten! “Top Ten Pointers From a Woman Married Ten Years!”

So I made a list of ten things that I know are helpful in cultivating love, intimacy, openness and support within a marriage. Meanwhile, I was quite aware of not actually following most of these rules because that week I was too stressed, too grumpy, etc.

It got me thinking: helpful tips only scratch the surface of what marriage is about. If we only stayed together when we were capable of being a good spouse, I don’t think anyone would stay married for long.

I don’t think of my marriage with Dennis as something I have to be good at, anyway. I think of our relationship as my safety net. He is my witness. He is here, beside me, day in a day out, whether I’m doing well or not. He is a safe place for me to fall apart when necessary. I can be a crying, inarticulate mess and he’ll take care of me. Sometimes he’ll pull me out of my irrationality or insecurity. Sometimes there is nothing he can do help but listen and stay by me. And that is enough.

We marry because we need someone there.

Whether we are good or bad. Whether we have succeeded or failed. We need someone to see the daily stuff, as well as the huge life-changing events. We need someone who we can hug or cry or look ugly with, without worrying that we’ve crossed some boundary.

I trust Dennis to be there for me. Not to always know what to do, or what to say, or how to read my mind. But I do know he will be by my side when I need him most. It is something I often take for granted, because I have been with him since I was eighteen, and I don’t know what it’s like to be with an untrustworthy partner. But when I stop and look at it now, I can see how priceless my trust in him is.

We have a good marriage for other reasons, too. We are thoughtful toward each other, and we have a weekly date night at home, yet still know how to give each other space. And we are similar in a lot of ways; we’re interested in art and storytelling and both have this creative drive that we were born with. Also, he’s really cute.

But even if all of that stuff fell away (and I know there will be times it might, because life is unpredictable and the people you live with will certainly drive you crazy), we stay together because we need each other. Not because we are “so good” at this marriage thing.

So there’s that. The other thing I’ve reflected on, in my musings on marriage these past few weeks, is this: romance is a need too often forgotten.

I’m not talking about cheesy romantic cliches. I don’t want Dennis to serenade me while staring into my eyes or start dancing with me on some cobblestone street even though there’s no music playing. (Maybe he could kiss me in the rain. That would be okay.)

To me, romance is walking around, exploring the world together. It’s unassuming and natural and funny. It’s spontaneous connections rather than perfectly executed performances. And the thing about marriage is, all those performances and games that we may have played while dating are going to fall away like masks, anyway. It’s no use trying to keep that up. So we might as well be our true selves, remembering that our true selves are usually our best selves anyway, and open ourselves up to true romance while we’re at it.

Especially when there are kids involved in a marriage, I think most of us start to view romance as a luxury for infatuated teenagers. Remember that free-falling feeling in the pit of your stomach, the thrill of being in the same room with your crush? Or, as newlyweds, the excitement of starting new lives together, of saying “my husband” aloud?

But now, with jobs and kids and households to maintain, the idea of trying to spark romance often feels like another chore. Like something that’s a lot harder than looking up endless You Tube videos or reading or watching the latest episode of Homeland. We’re already hemmed in by compromises at every turn…most of us are dying for some “me time.” We don’t even want to compromise on the TV show we’re watching, by the time the kids are finally in bed.

I feel that way a lot. But I also know that when romance sneaks up on me in a good moment with Dennis, it’s like opening a forgotten attic door where we keep our souls. Not the beaten down, battered, complaining, mediocre shells of human beings that collapse with defeat on the couch at the end of a unproductive day. But our true selves, brought into the light and made beautiful.

And I feel fulfilled and happy in a way that I’d forgotten I even wanted. Having a romantic partner is one of the wonders of life. Taking the time to notice, to actually feel the wonder of romantic love, is one of the few ways we transcend the mundane.

For moms, the mundane is often our lifeblood. We keep the train going, the household working, the meals coming, the dirt wiped, the holidays festive. But moms, you deserve to transcend that stuff sometimes, and when you come back down, you’ll be better at the mundane. Or at least you’ll be happier while dealing with it.

So instead of a list of ten things about marriage, I’ve got two:

  1. Marriage is about standing by each other’s side through it all.
  2. Romance is worth it.

8092372422_1c4991d053_o

I love you, Dennis. Thank you for staying with me these ten years. You have saved me time and again, and I hope to always do the same for you.

 

23 thoughts on “2 Things I’ve Learned in 10 Years of Marriage

  1. Jackie Moellers says:

    Happy Anniversary! And ten times ten more….

  2. Lisa says:

    Preeeetty great post. 😉 Looks like the two things you ended up with are way better than a top ten list.

  3. ElizabethChazottes says:

    Such beautiful prose Julie, congratulations on 10 years of a wonderful amazing adventure and wishing you many many more

  4. […] 2 Things I’ve Learned in 10 Years of Marriage (thejoyunderneath.wordpress.com) […]

  5. Celeste says:

    I really enjoyed reading this post. I was captivated and then surprised at your ending. Great job! Can’t wait to read more from you!

  6. Vike Thurston says:

    Beautifully written by a beautiful soul. You moved me – stopped me live in my tracks this morning. Hey, it took me at least 25 years of marriage to gain the wisdom you’ve found in 10!

  7. This is SO beautiful!!! Happy 10th Anniversary and heres to many, many more.

  8. Happy Anniversary! Marriage is the best story you’ll ever write, filled with its twists and revelations, compelling characters and the happiest of endings. Here’s to many decades more!

  9. Vickie Thurston says:

    Beautiful, Julia. Happy, happy ten years! What you wrote about being a witness to your partner reminds me of a scene from that movie “Shall We Dance?” I actually found it on You Tube if you want to see it.

    Susan Sarandon says in the scene, “We need a witness to our lives. There’s a billion people on the planet… I mean, what does any one life really mean? But in a marriage, you’re promising to care about everything. The good things, the bad things, the terrible things, the mundane things… all of it, all of the time, every day. You’re saying ‘Your life will not go unnoticed because I will notice it. Your life will not go un-witnessed because I will be your witness’.”

    Dad and I have said to each other after seeing this scene years ago “after all….I AM the witness to your life” Love you both. ~Mom

  10. Makin me cry over here…. I’m a little slow, but congratulations! It really is a significant milestone. As Uncle Vike said a few years ago: I think you’re gonna make it! 🙂

  11. […] acknowledge that often the best parts of friendship have nothing to do with “doing it right.” (Just like in marriage.) There is no step-by-step process to achieving the perfect friendship. Natural chemistry and […]

  12. […] 2 Things I’ve Learned in 10 Years of Marriage (thejoyunderneath.wordpress.com) […]

Leave a Reply

Julia

Mama-isms...and so much more!

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 476 other followers

Archives

Read Diverse Books

Let's Read The World

Discover

A daily selection of the best content published on WordPress, collected for you by humans who love to read.

Things We Like

a project by jessica gross

LaMonte M. Fowler

an indie author writing to stay sane

Kelsey L. Munger

writer. storyteller.

thecolorlilac.wordpress.com/

Social Justice | Pop Culture | Black Girl Magic

One Awkward Year

wow, this is awkward . . .

The Belle Jar

"Let me live, love and say it well in good sentences." - Sylvia Plath

Joy, Lovely Joy

Writing through mothering

Fucking Awesome Bulimics I Know

Kicking that pimp called Shame in the shins.

Fit and Feminist

Because it takes strong women to smash the patriarchy.

An Honest Mom

From the hip on mindfulness, parenting, feminism and homesteading.

PRONOIA BLOG

small shares from Pronoia Coaching

James Gillingham - Long Arm Films

Thinking thoughts and making films

Jennifer Keishin Armstrong

Writer, Teacher, Pop Culture Nerd.

Salad At Midnight

Real Life, Real Conversations

Ginger's Grocery

Come on in and browse. The biscuits were made fresh this morning, the Slush Puppie machine was just refilled with a new bottle of red syrup, and we have the biggest selection of bait this close to town.

tressiemc

some of us are brave

Music for Deckchairs

"In shadowy, silent distance grew the iceberg too": universities, technology, work and life

my name is elizabeth

stories about race, culture, and identity

Priss & Vinegar

Lawyer by trade. Writer at heart. Housewife by accident.

Angela Tucker

Blogger / Speaker / Educator

Candice Czubernat

A leading voice in the LGBTQ and Christian dialogue

Song of the Lark

Music, melodies, mutterings

Adventures of a Teacher Nerdfighter

Building a fifth grade classroom community around enthusiasm, creativity, and awesome.

afourytale

Motherhood and other musings

