And here is the “my eldest child has started Kindergarten” post.

Leave a comment

September 9, 2013 by Julia

So. Fiona is doing well – she has a sweet, down-to-earth teacher, a new friend to sit with on the bus, and good reports about her days in school. I’m still not totally convinced that five and six-year-olds should be in a full day of classes, but in most ways our family has been ready for this.

IMG_6291

The last summer days before school began were idyllic in their outings and Popsicles and lazy mornings, but lacked challenges for Fiona. There are important things like…oh…READING…that she needs to learn, and Lord knows she doesn’t want to learn them from me, no matter how much I try to engage her academically. We were all getting itchy for structure. After five and a half years of being home with Fiona, I was looking forward to the luxury of actually missing her every once in a while. Jack’s vocabulary has just started to expand, too, and I’ve been waiting for the opportunity to give him more focused attention.

And last, but certainly not least…I HAVE NAP TIME BACK. IT’S MINE, ALL MINE!!! Jack naps in the afternoon while she’s at school, and for the first time in around twenty months, I get some midday downtime. People who go to work: it’s the equivalent of a lunch break. Usually longer than a lunch break if all goes well. Oh HO, but we earn it.

When Fiona was little(r), I used to dread the day when her naps would end. I wasn’t sure how I’d manage without them. Naps gradually disappeared around when she turned four, and we adjusted, but in truth it’s been hard. And not just because it was harder to clean, or sacrifice myself on some homemaking altar. It was hard because solitude is often my fuel. It’s what I need to become patient and empathic and giving again. (Also, it makes me happy. Our own happiness as mothers – nay, as people – is important in its own right, too! Why is that so hard for us to admit?) At the same time, I knew Fiona needed some individual time with me while Jack napped, and I wanted to give it to her.

But now, during Jack’s naps, I’m off-duty. I can read. I can watch Scandal on Netflix. I can do a couple of chores in silence, I can have a cup of mint tea, light a candle, do yoga, write, quiet, quiet, me, me, alone, oh hell to the yeah.

It has been wonderful, truly. Jack and I walk Fiona to the bus stop and then we’re on our own. Only two wills to navigate rather than three. We can head out to meet up with friends, or stay home and play his games, watch his shows, read his books. Easy peas-y (sort of). In fact, when I do see friends who are still bringing along more than one child to play dates, I feel something akin to survivor’s guilt. “Please let me hold your baby! Can I do something, anything?? My life is so easy now!”

I do feel bad about the lack of alone time with Fiona, now, and I am trying to figure out times that will work for us to have uninterrupted playing. Also, she’s such an introvert (NO idea where she got it from!) that I feel the need to protect her from too much social activity, to let her have downtime in the afternoons – which is a challenge, because her closest friends don’t go to her school.

The biggest challenge so far, though, is waiting out the adjustment period. I assumed Fiona would be so exhausted every day after school that she’d basically crash on the couch. Instead, she’s been bouncing off the walls. Sometimes it’s with excitement over a fabulous day in class (which I LOVE), but more times it’s with this explosive, rude, demanding, meltdown-o-rama. I know the acting out is partly exhaustion, partly a reaction to the major changes in her life, and I want to remain calm. I have a theory that she is on her best, soft-spoken, sweet behavior at school (because that is the way she was in preschool), and then when she gets home, she needs to let it all hang out. I want our home to be the safest place for her to express the “messier” emotions. I believe it means we’re doing our jobs as parents if she does well out in the world, and then saves up the darker stuff for us. It means she trusts us, but is learning how to be a good person away from us.

I’ve lost my temper, though. We’re more on edge when we’re together at home – which is surprising to me, because I thought we’d be more tolerant, with all the daily hours apart. She wants me around all the time, but I’m also not doing things the way she’d like. Which…sometimes I think it’s okay to indulge a child. We all need loved ones to bend the rules, give us a break sometimes. But there are limits. So we knock heads. And it’s not the way I envisioned our after-school time being. I imagined lovey-dovey cuddles on the couch with snacks, the mutual satisfaction of having space from each other and then being reunited, catching up. It’s happened, in moments. And when she comes skipping off the bus to hug me and Jack, it’s wonderful.

I keep questioning myself…did I start this bickering? Was I cranky first, or was she? Am I somehow exhausted by this big life change, too, and I just don’t know it? I do know that I feel more pressure to make the time with Fiona REALLY COUNT now. And I feel that there are no excuses left. My life is easier, my patience should come easier, too. But maybe that expectation is naïve. Maybe patience and empathy are qualities I will have to strive for, more times than not.

And then I get discouraged by the fact that everyone thinks his or her life is hard, no matter what, even the people with the easiest lives ever. (For some reason, I think about this a lot. And also the fact that we all think we’re busy.) Will I forget how much harder it was with both kids at home, full-time, and start to take Jack’s precious naptime for granted, as if it’s time that is owed to me, and I can’t live without it? Will I at some point consider this thrillingly different schedule too stressful? Because it’s not! Don’t forget, future me: this is a good place to be. Hey, that rhymed. Maybe I should stitch it on a pillow to remind myself. For the next seven and a half years until Fiona’s a teenager, anyway.

First day jitters

First day jitters

IMG_6349 IMG_6355 IMG_6367

We can’t talk about that yet, though. My baaaaaaaaabby. This starting school thing is so complicated. Funny how you can know something is good, and yet the bittersweet feelings overwhelm you.

IMG_6375

Leave a Reply

Julia

Mama-isms...and so much more!

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 476 other followers

Archives

Read Diverse Books

Let's Read The World

Discover

A daily selection of the best content published on WordPress, collected for you by humans who love to read.

Things We Like

a project by jessica gross

LaMonte M. Fowler

an indie author writing to stay sane

Kelsey L. Munger

writer. storyteller.

thecolorlilac.wordpress.com/

Social Justice | Pop Culture | Black Girl Magic

One Awkward Year

wow, this is awkward . . .

The Belle Jar

"Let me live, love and say it well in good sentences." - Sylvia Plath

Joy, Lovely Joy

Writing through mothering

Fucking Awesome Bulimics I Know

Kicking that pimp called Shame in the shins.

Fit and Feminist

Because it takes strong women to smash the patriarchy.

An Honest Mom

From the hip on mindfulness, parenting, feminism and homesteading.

PRONOIA BLOG

small shares from Pronoia Coaching

James Gillingham - Long Arm Films

Thinking thoughts and making films

Jennifer Keishin Armstrong

Writer, Teacher, Pop Culture Nerd.

Salad At Midnight

Real Life, Real Conversations

Ginger's Grocery

Come on in and browse. The biscuits were made fresh this morning, the Slush Puppie machine was just refilled with a new bottle of red syrup, and we have the biggest selection of bait this close to town.

tressiemc

some of us are brave

Music for Deckchairs

"In shadowy, silent distance grew the iceberg too": universities, technology, work and life

my name is elizabeth

stories about race, culture, and identity

Priss & Vinegar

Lawyer by trade. Writer at heart. Housewife by accident.

Angela Tucker

Blogger / Speaker / Educator

Candice Czubernat

A leading voice in the LGBTQ and Christian dialogue

Song of the Lark

Music, melodies, mutterings

Adventures of a Teacher Nerdfighter

Building a fifth grade classroom community around enthusiasm, creativity, and awesome.

afourytale

Motherhood and other musings

