What it’s Like, Part Four: Having a Girl and a Boy

Leave a comment

August 22, 2013 by Julia

So what’s it like to have one girl and one boy? In a word: awesome.

I love, love, love it.

I mentioned before that I enjoy switching back and forth between the two kids, that the different ages and personalities keep things more interesting throughout the day. That applies to the boy-girl thing, too.

I relate to them differently, in part because of gender. I feel equally close both kids, but with Jack there is an “opposites attract” vibe. It’s hard to describe, but it feels like puzzle pieces coming together. It’s easy and affectionate. I don’t want him to grow up to be a mama’s boy, but I now understand that impulse…I actually feel possessive of him. With Fiona, things are not as easy – we clash more, probably because we are more similar – but there is a relatability factor, a growing friendship, a sense that she will share her life with me forever.

Loving them feeds different parts of my soul.

IMG_6139 IMG_0395

Of course, we get the challenging sides of both worlds, too…talk about being drained physically AND emotionally. I’m bombarded from every direction. Jack is going through a phase of screaming – there are happy screams, excited screams, mad screams, sad screams, frustrated, etc. He is also into throwing things and jumping off things. So there is that, going on at all times. Also, he is always making a mess. Always. No matter what the environment or the available tools.

Meanwhile, Fiona is usually begging me to act out something dramatic with her Legos or Powerpuff Girls, or to tell her a story, or talk about various apocalyptic scenarios and/or normal social scenarios. In other words, full mental engagement, all the time. There is no “off” button (well, other than TV or the I-pad).

Her reaction to stress is endless crying (though this has gotten better over time), Jack’s reaction is scary tantrums, when the best I can do is to keep him from hitting head on the floor.

So yeah, I’m tired all the time, in all the ways. I don’t claim to be more tired than mothers of same-gendered kids, for the record – just that my boy and girl make me tired in different ways. Every mom has it hard, for real.

BUT! (You knew it was coming.) There are just as many rewards.

For instance, boys are excellent snugglers. (My unofficial poll of 4-5 mothers of both genders confirms this.) I can’t get enough. Jack is a ball of energy, and yet when he lies on me, he completely relaxes, his head on my shoulder, his arms around me.

Also, I like “boys’ ” toys. Playing with cars and trains is calming and fun, especially after the more dramatic, convoluted stories Fiona wants me to play out with a handful of figurines. I love to explore the physical world with him, to figure out how things work. And I appreciate the tougher mentality Jack has – his initiative, his quick recoveries from spills, his bravery coupled with common sense about just how far he can safely jump. Considering all his high jinks, it’s amazing he doesn’t get hurt more often. You gotta admire that.

 IMG_4350IMG_8364 IMG_1609 IMG_4254 IMG_5070 IMG_5421 IMG_5862 IMG_6063

But with girls…the clothes are so cute and pretty and fun. And it’s easier to take girls out in public, say to a restaurant or a store, without the risk of them literally trying to climb the walls. They will actually sit down and stay put sometimes. (Although Fiona did go through a phase of standing up in booths, Jack is on another level of un-contain-ability.) And really, Fiona and I are interested in the same things: art, storytelling, the complex social world, silliness. When I’m able to focus on playing with her, the stuff she comes up with is often fascinating or hilarious. I appreciate her sensitivity and acute observations and humor.

 IMG_8537 IMG_4403 IMG_4302 IMG_8662 IMG_8211 IMG_8132IMG_8565

Now. Let’s talk gender-based stereotypes. And the fact that my children fit them almost perfectly.

Before they could even talk, Fiona was drawn to dolls, and Jack was excited about wheels. Fiona had better verbal skills as a toddler, while Jack has had superior motor skills. Her interests are storytelling, social interactions, playing with dolls or figures, and drawing people. His interests are experimenting, building, destroying, wheels, exploring, and robots.

Even their mannerisms at such a young age reflect their genders – she has a quirky, cautious grace, while he possesses what can only be described as a manly swagger. And his two-year-old voice can sound tough whenever he wants it to. When he yelled “Come on!!” to me the other day, my friend commented that he sounded like Arnold Schwarzenegger: “Come with me if you want to live.”

IMG_8302IMG_5596 IMG_5559 IMG_45684862513883_1ce6390f2d_o 7505732634_85c243ee11_o 8133619791_5464dd0359_o 8369660568_e047a61b63_o

No doubt, there are many boys who are just as interested in the subtleties of the social world, and many girls who fearlessly jump in just the right ways. This is a tricky subject matter, because I realize it’s impossible to talk about the differences between boys and girls without running into a million exceptions to the rule or offending someone. So really, all I should talk about here is my boy and my girl.

This has been a struggle for me, though, if I’m being honest. I love to categorize and compare, and gender is (usually) a pretty straightforward category to work with. But I want to be supportive of any child, regardless of how or whether they identify with their own gender. I would hate to make generalizations that trigger feelings of insecurity or anger.

Now that I have both a boy and a girl, though, I’m probably perpetuating gender stereotypes wherever I go. I often make loud statements like, “Did you see how he just sat down in the dirt and then rubbed it all over himself?! He’s such a BOY!” or “The first time she really played with cars, she put them to bed on a pillow, covered them with a blanket, and sang them lullabies.” And then I feel the truth of what I said, coupled with embarrassment over my possible over-simplification of things.

Where are all these “such a boy/girl!” statements coming from? I was never into the whole princess thing for girls, and if Jack wants to try on a tu-tu, I think it’s adorable – not a threat to his masculinity, or some crap. I’d love Fiona to get involved in sports.

I’m just surprised that both children have shown such stereotypical interests and traits since birth, without extra prompting on our part. I really thought most of this stuff was dictated by cultural mores.

IMG_4035IMG_5765 IMG_5854 IMG_6093 IMG_4999

I do believe many of Jack and Fiona’s differences have more to do with temperament than gender. And just because my boy loves dirt, it doesn’t mean all boys do.

I suppose that’s enough backpedaling. The experiences with both children have been different, due in part to gender. And we could not be more thrilled!

IMG_0990 IMG_0988

There is one last issue that comes to mind when musing about sibling dynamics. Are sisters more likely to be closer to sisters, and brothers to brothers? I think…yeah, they probably are. It seems to me like same-sex siblings will fight more as kids, and then as adults they will hang out more than a brother and sister would.

I’m okay with it, though. Que sera, sera. Right now, Jack and Fiona are as close as I could hope a five-and-a-half year old girl and a two-year-old boy to be. They snuggle, and they hang out, and they play. They squabble and they annoy, too. But there is a sweetness, a looking out for each other, that warms my heart.

IMG_7346 IMG_4387 IMG_8047 IMG_8420 IMG_5402 IMG_5051 IMG_5092 IMG_5093 IMG_8528

I have another theory about what usually happens when boys and girls grow into men and women, based on casual observation. Most girls will continue to keep us company as adults – calling us (or at least answering the phone when we call them), making an effort to be around for holidays, remembering birthdays, helping out, etc.

But the boys…well. They’re gonna leave us in the dust. Our only hope is that they’ll marry someone who will bring them back to us. I try not to think about the abandoning-us-once-he’s-grown part with Jack, yet. Hopefully, Fiona will give him the occasional sisterly scolding for ignoring his mother.

IMG_4226

IMG_1529

Leave a Reply

Julia

Mama-isms...and so much more!

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 473 other followers

Archives

Read Diverse Books

Let's Read The World

Discover

A daily selection of the best content published on WordPress, collected for you by humans who love to read.

Things We Like

a project by jessica gross

LaMonte M. Fowler

an indie author writing to stay sane

Kelsey L. Munger

writer. storyteller.

thecolorlilac.wordpress.com/

Social Justice | Pop Culture | Black Girl Magic

One Awkward Year

wow, this is awkward . . .

The Belle Jar

"Let me live, love and say it well in good sentences." - Sylvia Plath

Joy, Lovely Joy

Writing through mothering

Fucking Awesome Bulimics I Know

Kicking that pimp called Shame in the shins.

Fit and Feminist

Because it takes strong women to smash the patriarchy.

An Honest Mom

From the hip on mindfulness, parenting, feminism and homesteading.

PRONOIA BLOG

small shares from Pronoia Coaching

James Gillingham - Long Arm Films

Thinking thoughts and making films

Jennifer Keishin Armstrong

Writer, Teacher, Pop Culture Nerd.

Salad At Midnight

Real Life, Real Conversations

Ginger's Grocery

Come on in and browse. The biscuits were made fresh this morning, the Slush Puppie machine was just refilled with a new bottle of red syrup, and we have the biggest selection of bait this close to town.

tressiemc

some of us are brave

Music for Deckchairs

"In shadowy, silent distance grew the iceberg too": universities, technology, work and life

my name is elizabeth

stories about race, culture, and identity

Priss & Vinegar

Lawyer by trade. Writer at heart. Housewife by accident.

Angela Tucker

Blogger / Speaker / Educator

Candice Czubernat

A leading voice in the LGBTQ and Christian dialogue

Song of the Lark

Music, melodies, mutterings

Adventures of a Teacher Nerdfighter

Building a fifth grade classroom community around enthusiasm, creativity, and awesome.

afourytale

Motherhood and other musings

