What It’s Like, Part Two: Having a First Child

1

August 5, 2013 by Julia

When Fiona was born, I thought she might be an only child – we wanted another, but didn’t know if it would happen for us. So with Fiona we went through the “first child experiences” while also preparing for the possibility that she might be an only child.

But of course in the beginning, I wasn’t thinking much about her possible future siblings. I had two main feelings: overwhelming relief that she had made it safely into our arms from the dark (mostly) unseen world of my womb, and a combination of love/fear/burden that shook me to my core. Dennis felt it, too.

2246634260_1d492bce3a_o

A week or two after we’d gone home from the hospital, and my parents were leaving after an evening visit, I tearfully said to them, “You guys did a good job of never making us kids feel like a burden. I had NO IDEA that it was this hard.”

Now, it wasn’t that I’d gone into parenthood naively; I knew that it would involve a lot of work and was probably the biggest life change we’d ever go through. But I was struck, acutely, with that love/fear/burden combo that you can’t quite comprehend until actually becoming a parent. And I marveled at the fact that I had grown up in my parents’ household somewhat oblivious to the intensity of the love/fear/burden combo that they must have felt about me. To their credit, I’d felt more like a gift than a burden, heh.

But my mom has admitted to me that she did have some “baby blues” after I, her first baby, was born. I think part of the difficulty in the beginning is the incredibly steep learning curve. And I’m not even talking about the various methods of baby care. I mean parental confidence. It doesn’t matter how much baby gear you own, how many books you’ve read, how much babysitting you’ve done (although that might help more than anything) – it’s something you must learn through experience. Even the most seasoned parents can’t offer you a shortcut by way of advice. Not really.

The other difficulty is that this child is yours.

2227530634_8bac834d71_o

And if you love and care for your child, there is no escaping that, no way, no how, not even if you are two thousand miles apart for a weekend. The burden of your child will never go away. You are the adult here. All responsibility comes back to you. Not your own parents, not your boss. YOU. And that is some freaky shit, right there, the first time around.

2226789821_f690e7e9ec_o

2246630776_41107c152c_o

The love itself is scary, too. I looked at Fiona, whom I don’t even know yet, and believed I would die if something bad happened to her. (That’s about as specific as I can get without flipping out.) And even if she remained healthy and safe, I still knew that she’d have to endure the hardships of life, and that my own heart would break when hers did. And the love hurt already, it ached, and the only balm was her fuzzy baby head in the crook of my neck.

2220293083_7828d3b3ca_o

She wasn’t a calm baby. She didn’t have colic (I honestly don’t know how parents of colicky babies cope. You are heroes.), but she was sensitive, and I remember this feeling Dennis and I both had of constantly walking on eggshells with her. We were on edge, she was on edge – hard to say who started it.

For our first dinner in public, we took her to a casual pizza place, sat in a booth, and wedged her car seat/carrier in next to me. She seemed contented enough, strapped into it. But we ordered our pizza, and she immediately started crying. I started gently jiggling the carrier, because we knew that sometimes put her to sleep. She did not settle down. We panicked. We flagged down our server and told her we needed the pizza to go, and fled the premises – one of us going back inside for the pizza, the other outside with the hysterical baby. “Well, that went well,” I said in the car, the air thick with our bitterness that we would NEVER AGAIN be able to enjoy the good life. To us, the good life meant eating out at casual pizza places.

Who, me?

Who, me?

I think that little story illustrates something typical of new parents. We found one thing that worked sometimes (jiggling her car seat to put her to sleep), and hung onto it for dear life, because the world was going to end if that one thing stopped working. Now, I look back on that night and think, why didn’t I just take her out of the carrier and cuddle her? Babies like to be held. Duh. I want to tell my past self to relax. But my past self would have told my current self to mind her own beeswax, probably. I was going on four (broken) hours of sleep a night, and was highly sensitive to any unsolicited advice.

Finally, a nurse from our hospital ordered me to come to a new mother’s group that met in the basement. She must have sensed something desperate and teary about me…a look she could probably recognize from a mile away. So I showed up, took a folding chair in the circle of moms waiting their turn to ask questions from the nurse holding court, and suddenly felt like I could breathe. Everyone had a baby with them, and those babies were crying, getting diapers changed, breastfeeding, like it was no thang. And the mothers! Such variety – some were in their early twenties, some were in their forties, some were fashionable and miraculously thin, others lost in stained sweats and greasy hair. But we were all the same. We were all tired, and stressed, and in love with our babies. Also, hungry. New motherhood is the great equalizer.

The suggestion I feel compelled to give to new moms is: hang out with other new moms. As a somewhat introverted person, I didn’t consider how much I’d miss the socialization that school and work had provided, until I’d been at home with Fiona for weeks by myself. So I became gung-ho about playdates – organizing them, introducing myself to people, always checking the message board for the online group we created.

And while I wanted to continue to see non-parent friends, of course, the stress level on these outings was usually higher. It’s one thing to sit with a bunch of old colleagues and try to nurse under a blanket while your baby screams because she is suddenly, furiously hungry (ahhhh!!!!!). It’s another thing entirely to deal with this scenario while surrounded by other moms who are currently bouncing and swaddling, near tears, laughing, carrying on conversations over the crying, whipping out boobs, shaking bottles as fast as possible, discussing every last detail of baby-raising as if it is more important than government policy – because it is (in some cases). These women helped get me through, more than any advice could have. This was the place where I was most comfortable, the place where my sanity was restored, my loneliness cured. And I still count some of them as some of my best friends.

2593021272_a8bac829e1_o 3038283811_9689e23c0c_o 3140150840_8704dc067e_o

Fiona’s first year went by slowly. She was a bad sleeper for the first four months, until we finally decided to let her “cry it out,” and things got better. I nursed her for eight months, which was really hard at first, and then wonderful for a while, and then sad (but slightly relieving) for me when she weaned herself, preferring the bottle. She never learned to crawl as a baby; she just wanted us to hold her hands up and walk her everywhere. Dennis and I couldn’t imagine a time when she would walk on her own or talk – not because she seemed developmentally slow, but because it’s so hard to fathom when you’re looking at this helpless little babe. We couldn’t wait, though. We wanted her to be a kid. We wanted to see who she was going to be, what her interests were and how she sounded when she spoke. We took a million gazillion pictures – albums’ worth for each month of her life, and I obsessed over which adorable outfit she should wear on which day. Both of our families were just as doting, especially with Fiona being the first grandchild on both sides.

3171518225_4b0ff432b9_o 3172349940_961405c0fe_o

Her first birthday was a joy. She began to walk. We were surrounded by her baby friends and our family members, and it felt so special to me. There really is something about a baby’s first. It’s a milestone for the parents, too – we’d made it out of the newborn woods, and were turning a corner into childhood. And to celebrate your own child, well…it doesn’t get much better. I just wanted to soak up every minute with her on that day.

3210597714_3f217194ca_o

Um, does this cake have eggs in it? I’m allergic to eggs. You’ll find out in about six months, at the ER. And no, I don’t want any.

3210594516_f1c4905711_o 3210595254_c6a69dbdd0_o

As Fiona went from toddler to preschooler, things felt easier to us, although of course there were meltdowns and tantrums and confusing phases. But a toddler’s whine is less panic-inducing than a hungry baby’s. Also: sleep was happening for all of us. Things had grown more predictable, and we were gaining confidence. Although I do remember often thinking – there are moms out there who care for four or more children. Am I a weakling because just caring for this one child is hard for me? Is something wrong with me, because I struggle so much?

But now that I have two kids, I don’t look back on my 3 ½ years with only Fiona, and think, oh man – that was sooo easy, I had NO IDEA. I look back on it as being hard in a much different way than having two kids is hard. Both situations have their own sets of challenges and rewards. (More on that in Part Three: Having a Second Child!) The difference between having no kids and one is exponential compared to adding more kids to a family. All it takes is one to change everything.

3548983112_225f5f3158_o

Could you give me a hand with this boulder I call a head? So…much…work to lift…

So there you have it: what’s it’s like to have your first baby. No doubt everyone’s experience matches mine exactly. Just kidding, although I assume there are some universal truths that most of us share.

In summary, we were too overwhelmed to enjoy the baby phase, too excited about each upcoming milestone to appropriately savor the one she was currently in, went through a steep steep STEEP learning curve and major life adjustment, and last but definitely not least…have been given a love and joy that runs so deep none of that other hard stuff could even touch it. This is what fulfillment feels like.

3544554702_b86038aa34_o 3831409191_cce161b318_o 3832234766_d4c6551432_o 5230077921_2e9ccc3a65_o 5612352220_ab15d312d5_o

One thought on “What It’s Like, Part Two: Having a First Child

  1. Emmie says:

    I think about shep’s first year and how slow and scary it was, but I also read stories of women with premies or babies that need surgery right after birth and think how could I complain about the stresses I had to go through. I’m amazed at how these women stay strong and not just crumple into a ball of tears. I remember feeling so amazingly blessed when he was born pink and pudgy and loud like a scary dinosaur, but not any less scared out of my mind. I am amazed how all I think about is his well being and now Mabel’s whenever I am away from them even when I get some well needed mommy alone time. I also find it strange that I feel like they were always suppose to be here even before they were a little bean inside me. Babies are such miracles and its wonderful to be able to be apart of their lives.

Leave a Reply

Julia

Mama-isms...and so much more!

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 496 other followers

Archives

Radical Discipleship

A Joint Project of Bartimaeus Cooperative Ministries and Word & World

Read Diverse Books

Let's Read The World

Discover

A daily selection of the best content published on WordPress, collected for you by humans who love to read.

Angela Barnett

Writer. Wig Wearer. Shame Buster.

Things We Like

a project by jessica gross

LaMonte M. Fowler

an indie author writing to stay sane

Kelsey L. Munger

writer. storyteller.

thecolorlilac.wordpress.com/

Social Justice | Pop Culture | Black Girl Magic

One Awkward Year

wow, this is awkward . . .

The Belle Jar

"Let me live, love and say it well in good sentences." - Sylvia Plath

Joy, Lovely Joy

Writing through mothering

Fucking Awesome Bulimics I Know

Kicking that pimp called Shame in the shins.

Fit and Feminist

Because it takes strong women to smash the patriarchy.

An Honest Mom

From the hip on mindfulness, parenting, feminism and homesteading.

PRONOIA BLOG

small shares from Pronoia Coaching

James Gillingham - Long Arm Films

Thinking thoughts and making films

Jennifer Keishin Armstrong

Writing for the Pop Culture Literate.

Ginger's Grocery

Come on in and browse. The biscuits were made fresh this morning, the Slush Puppie machine was just refilled with a new bottle of red syrup, and we have the biggest selection of bait this close to town.

tressiemc

some of us are brave

Music for Deckchairs

"In shadowy, silent distance grew the iceberg too": universities, technology, work and life

my name is elizabeth

stories about race, culture, and identity

Priss & Vinegar

Lawyer by trade. Writer at heart. Housewife by accident.

Angela Tucker

Blogger / Speaker / Educator

Candice Czubernat

A leading voice in the LGBTQ and Christian dialogue

Song of the Lark

Music, melodies, mutterings

Adventures of a Teacher Nerdfighter

Building a fifth grade classroom community around enthusiasm, creativity, and awesome.

