On Parenting Trends

2

July 24, 2013 by Julia

It’s pretty hard to TRULY screw up our children, unless we’re psychopaths or extremists.

So I figure if I don’t take any parenting philosophies too far, my kids will basically grow into their natural selves, without me getting in the way.

As a parent, I’m aiming for the middle of the road.

Isn’t that the most inspiring parenting platitude you’ve ever heard?

Inspired by Wave Puppies

Don’t get me wrong; I want my children to thrive, and I want to do more than stay out of the way as they grow. I want to shower them with love and affection, to help them discover their own interests and talents, and teach them how to cope with and enjoy the world.

I just think there are many ways to achieve those goals. My way isn’t the only way. And it can’t hurt to keep an open mind while observing parenting styles on the opposite end of the spectrum than my own. I might even integrate some of those stricter methods into my default “Laid-Back Parent” mode, and find myself a little closer to that middle of the road, where well-adjusted children are raised.

I like to read the latest parenting articles and books, glean a few bits of wisdom and add them like supplies to my backpack. I take what looks useful, and leave behind what looks burdensome. My favorite tools to date are: using my intuition about what is right, remembering empathy when my children frustrate me, and remembering to model my most important values, like kindness. But flexibility and humility are also key, because my favorite tools don’t always work.

Phases come and go, and demands change. We may think we have it all figured out because our first kid was so easygoing, and then the second one comes shooting out the womb like a fireball rocket and suddenly nothing makes sense anymore.

Let’s face it; our kids will make us re-evaluate our deepest beliefs about what constitutes good or bad behavior.

Sometimes our best option is to act like an Attachment Parent, or a Helicopter Parent, or a Tiger Mother, or a Minimalist – even if we never saw ourselves that way before. Even if we used to judge those parents at the playground. As long we’re not that way all the time, acting as though it’s a one-size-fits-all perfect formula. Each of those parenting styles has pros and cons. If we watch out for the pitfalls, mix it up, figure out what works best in the field, so to speak, surely we’re doing okay. I believe this is how good parents (that’s most of us) operate, anyway.

Of course that’s easy for me to say, because of my default position as Laid-Back Parent. This kind of thinking comes with the territory for me.

Which makes me wonder at times if I need to push my children more. Am I too laid-back? Fiona enters Kindergarten soon, and she doesn’t read at all yet, which they say is normal, but so many of her friends have already crossed that divide. The thing is, Fiona is not interested in sitting down and spelling things out. Fiona is interested in acting out stories with figures – Legos, Polly Pockets, dolls, whatever. And I LOVE that about her. But I still question if I should be doing more to push her out of her comfort zone, even if she’s screaming and kicking the whole way.

So I talk to friends, trying to gauge if I am crazy for not making her do worksheets all summer, for not forcing her to sit and work on sight words or phonics as preparation for school. The general consensus has been that if I can encourage her to do it with positive reinforcement, fine – but don’t turn it into a battle, because you don’t want her to have negative associations with something so wonderful as reading. And I am thankful for this feedback, from parents who are different than myself.

It’s also easy to clash with our own parents about how best to raise children. The truth is, we’ve got studies on safety and health and psychology on our side – they’ve got more experience under their belts. Both kinds of knowledge are valuable. When the kids were babies, I told my parents that I wanted them laid in their cribs on their backs, without blankets, because these methods have vastly reduced SIDS nationwide. By the same token, I know my parents have pretty much seen it all, and I can talk to them about any issues we’re struggling with as a family. I can vent, or gush, and know that, yup, they’ve been there. They know what I’m talking about. Often this is more helpful than advice.

Of course, sometimes they do regale me with good advice, like this gem I carry in my backpack as I traverse the ups and downs of parenthood. From an email my Dad sent me on March 15th, 2013:

Ju – Thought you could appreciate this (and be reassured!). From review of Adam Phillips Missing Out (New Yorker):

Phillips was lured into [the field of] psychoanalysis by the writings of D. W. Winnicott, the revered child psychologist of mid-twentieth century England. One of Winnicott’s main contributions to psychoanalytic thought was his idea of the “good-enough mother,” the mother who sometimes responded promptly to our needs and sometimes didn’t. The beauty of this concept was that it was so widely applicable – most people had that kind of mother – and also that it bestowed some honor on her. I think that Phillips regards Winnicott’s good-enough mother as not just good enough but the best, because she tells us the truth: on occasion we’ll get satisfaction and on occasion we won’t. We need understanding sometimes, not every time. If we insist on getting it all the time, he asks, “how could we ever be anything but permanently enraged?”

Love,

Dad

Isn’t that, like, the best?

Mistakes and inadequacies and occasional selfishness keep us in the middle of the road, too. And that’s not such a bad place to be. So take a deep breath, and keep on.

 

2 thoughts on “On Parenting Trends

  1. katyjane says:

    For what it’s worth, both of my kids were readers when they entered kindergarten (or, rather, my daughter who is entering in the fall, is already reading). That said, I didn’t push it. I followed along with their interests. We took a lot of walks in the city, which led to lots of conversations about the signs we saw. And they see me reading (a LOT). But when my oldest started kindergarten, he was bored a lot, because other kids couldn’t read. And when we moved across the country in first grade, he hated school because of phonics, because the other kids needed it for reading, and he just didn’t.

    Your little one is figuring out storytelling–a MAJOR skill. If that’s where she wants to be, work with that. Talk about the beginnings, middles, and ends of her stories. Introduce plot ideas. Help her develop character traits, and talk about them. Those are skills that are just as important for reading comprehension as sounding out words. Take what she loves, and push it just that little bit further. The other thing I’d think about with that is whether or not you think she’ll be frustrated if she can’t read when other kids are–if so, developing some of those early skills might be a good idea for her.

    Or, also valid, let her be a kid. She’s five. She has plenty of time for worksheets and drudgery. Childhood is preciously short, and getting shorter. Let her hold on to being little while she still can.

    Oh, and my husband and I figure that if we can raise our kids with healthy attitudes towards sex and alcohol, most of the rest will probably be fine.

    • Julia says:

      Thank you for your comments, Katy! I agree with everything you said. I can’t wait for Fiona to have that “aha!” moment when she suddenly sees the value in reading and writing in connection to storytelling. And it seems to me like reading just clicks into place for many kids at an early age, regardless of whether or not their parent had pressured them to learn it. Also, I am of a similar mind about parenting – if I can instill healthy attitudes and good values in her, I can probably relax about most other things. She will learn to read – if it’s not on the early side, it’s ok.

Leave a Reply

Julia

Mama-isms...and so much more!

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 494 other followers

Archives

Read Diverse Books

Let's Read The World

Discover

A daily selection of the best content published on WordPress, collected for you by humans who love to read.

Things We Like

a project by jessica gross

LaMonte M. Fowler

an indie author writing to stay sane

Kelsey L. Munger

writer. storyteller.

thecolorlilac.wordpress.com/

Social Justice | Pop Culture | Black Girl Magic

One Awkward Year

wow, this is awkward . . .

The Belle Jar

"Let me live, love and say it well in good sentences." - Sylvia Plath

Joy, Lovely Joy

Writing through mothering

Fucking Awesome Bulimics I Know

Kicking that pimp called Shame in the shins.

Fit and Feminist

Because it takes strong women to smash the patriarchy.

An Honest Mom

From the hip on mindfulness, parenting, feminism and homesteading.

PRONOIA BLOG

small shares from Pronoia Coaching

James Gillingham - Long Arm Films

Thinking thoughts and making films

Jennifer Keishin Armstrong

Writing for the Pop Culture Literate.

Ginger's Grocery

Come on in and browse. The biscuits were made fresh this morning, the Slush Puppie machine was just refilled with a new bottle of red syrup, and we have the biggest selection of bait this close to town.

tressiemc

some of us are brave

Music for Deckchairs

"In shadowy, silent distance grew the iceberg too": universities, technology, work and life

my name is elizabeth

stories about race, culture, and identity

Priss & Vinegar

Lawyer by trade. Writer at heart. Housewife by accident.

Angela Tucker

Blogger / Speaker / Educator

Candice Czubernat

A leading voice in the LGBTQ and Christian dialogue

Song of the Lark

Music, melodies, mutterings

Adventures of a Teacher Nerdfighter

Building a fifth grade classroom community around enthusiasm, creativity, and awesome.

afourytale

Motherhood and other musings

Ethan Yarbrough Writes

Stories. True, Fiction and Otherwise.

