They Have it So Good

3

June 20, 2013 by Julia

I’ve gradually taken note of a new offshoot of gratitude these past few weeks. Rather than reminding myself of how good I have it, I like to think of how good my kids have it. Not because we are rich or act like perfect parents, clearly, but because we have enough, and we are good enough. Good enough is better than perfect, anyway. Who wants a perfect mom? I don’t know what that might look like, but I imagine some iteration of Barbie or Stepford wife, talking psychobabble every time her child throws a tantrum. Blech!

Chances are, your kids are growing up in a good environment, too. Most of us are loving. Most of us can meet our children’s needs. We spend so much time worrying about whether or not we’re doing the right things as a parent. But the very fact that we have the time and mental capacity to question ourselves, read the books, or ask for advice probably means that we’re doing okay.

I happened to read a horrifying blog entry last week, written by a woman who was abandoned by her drug-addicted mother as a young girl, and left with an abusive and neglectful father. It was a story so bad I wasn’t sure I believed it. But whether or not this post was real, events like the ones she wrote about actually happen in the world all the time. I also recently read a memoir by Leymah Gbowee, a Libyan mother of four who survived with her children through years of civil war and genocide, a time of destruction and senseless violence and hunger.

It’s stories like this that force me to see our family life in a new light.

My kids wake up in a comfortable bed to cuddles and go to sleep at night with singing and snuggles. They hear “I love you,” at least once a day. They assume that not only will their most basic needs be met by us or their extended family and friends, but many of their emotional needs, too. Their home is a safe place to cry, throw tantrums, show affection, be honest, and ask questions. They have it so good.

Some parents don’t care at all – or at least not enough to actually get involved in the work of raising kids. Some parents are so buried in pain or psychosis or evil that they actively hurt their own children on a regular basis.

Some parents don’t know how they will feed their children or get them clean water. They have to listen to a toddler’s hungry cry, and there is nothing they can do to soothe their pain. Some parents can’t guarantee their child’s safety, and live in constant fear of attack. Some parents have no access to healthcare, and seemingly small illnesses or injuries can turn frightening in a heartbeat.

Maybe these are things you have experienced, as a child or a parent, and if so my heart aches for you. I hope you can find help and healing.

These are fears my own little family has yet to experience, mostly because of where we were born, and to whom we were born – things we can’t take credit for. So I am grateful, and more than a little guilty about those who don’t have such security. We take our safety, our food, and our healthcare for granted. I don’t know how I could go on if my children were hungry and I couldn’t feed them. Instead, I go to my local grocery store every week, where the supply is endless, and I not only have enough money to buy the things we need for nutrition, but things like ice cream, Goldfish crackers, almond M&M’s – things that are fun to eat. And colorful foods, like peppers and carrots and apples and grapes. There is so much variety.

Our days are filled with time exploring the outdoors, climbing playground equipment, feeding ducks and goats, checking out books at the library, getting ice cream, and splashing around in pools. We find friends, and we grow up with them. We visit with adoring grandparents and aunts and uncles almost every weekend. We keep the house clean enough – not too clean, though. When we are tired we go inside and watch a movie while eating Popsicles. When we are dirty we bathe in warm water and put on clean, cute pajamas and read books under the covers. When Jack runs to me, I hold him tight. When Fiona asks me deep questions in the car, I do my best to answer thoughtfully and precisely. When Dennis gets home from work the kids skip to him and he plays with them, chasing and roughhousing, and the house is filled with screams of delight.

I could go on and on. About the kindness we try to teach. About the traveling and learning and music they hear. Can you say the same about your children’s lives? I bet you can.

I thank God for all of these gifts to my children. My heart overflows.

IMG_5240 IMG_5253 IMG_5264 IMG_5270 IMG_5286 IMG_5295 IMG_5344 IMG_5356 IMG_5372 IMG_5378 IMG_5385 IMG_5412 IMG_5431

3 thoughts on “They Have it So Good

  1. Sam says:

    Baltimore native? I specifically remember sitting on the same horse saddle (as a 19 year old) and taking a picture with the “this is meant for 12 year olds” sign in the background. lol.

  2. Beautiful and so very true. 🙂

Leave a Reply

Julia

Mama-isms...and so much more!

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 496 other followers

Archives

Radical Discipleship

A Joint Project of Bartimaeus Cooperative Ministries and Word & World

Read Diverse Books

Let's Read The World

Discover

A daily selection of the best content published on WordPress, collected for you by humans who love to read.

Angela Barnett

Writer. Wig Wearer. Shame Buster.

Things We Like

a project by jessica gross

LaMonte M. Fowler

an indie author writing to stay sane

Kelsey L. Munger

writer. storyteller.

thecolorlilac.wordpress.com/

Social Justice | Pop Culture | Black Girl Magic

One Awkward Year

wow, this is awkward . . .

The Belle Jar

"Let me live, love and say it well in good sentences." - Sylvia Plath

Joy, Lovely Joy

Writing through mothering

Fucking Awesome Bulimics I Know

Kicking that pimp called Shame in the shins.

Fit and Feminist

Because it takes strong women to smash the patriarchy.

An Honest Mom

From the hip on mindfulness, parenting, feminism and homesteading.

PRONOIA BLOG

small shares from Pronoia Coaching

James Gillingham - Long Arm Films

Thinking thoughts and making films

Jennifer Keishin Armstrong

Writing for the Pop Culture Literate.

Ginger's Grocery

Come on in and browse. The biscuits were made fresh this morning, the Slush Puppie machine was just refilled with a new bottle of red syrup, and we have the biggest selection of bait this close to town.

tressiemc

some of us are brave

Music for Deckchairs

"In shadowy, silent distance grew the iceberg too": universities, technology, work and life

my name is elizabeth

stories about race, culture, and identity

Priss & Vinegar

Lawyer by trade. Writer at heart. Housewife by accident.

Angela Tucker

Blogger / Speaker / Educator

Candice Czubernat

A leading voice in the LGBTQ and Christian dialogue

Song of the Lark

Music, melodies, mutterings

Adventures of a Teacher Nerdfighter

Building a fifth grade classroom community around enthusiasm, creativity, and awesome.

