Ode to a Dishwasher

2

May 14, 2013 by Julia

Oh, Dishwasher, oh dishwasher

You are my frenemy

I depended on you I hated you I needed you

When I didn’t know what else to do,

I came to you,

Because you always needed to be unloaded

Or loaded

And that was always a valid place to start.

Get the ball rolling

On the day:

Make sure your dishwasher is in order.

My place of zen. My starting point.

And now you are gone.

Well, your body remains, but your soul has departed.

Your replacement waits by the front door in

A giant box. Because we are more artsy fartsy

Than Handy Manny

It will remain in the box until

The people who know how to install it without

Flooding the kitchen or electrocuting themselves

Arrive on Monday.

Let’s hope your replacement fits in the hole you now occupy.

That’s not a metaphor. I mean that literally.

And so I WASH WASH WASH dishes

And it takes twice as long by hand (that’s what she said)

And now I fully understand why mothers of older generations

Rarely played with their children. This is not a slam on them

Between the dishes and the laundry, it’s a miracle they survived.

Dishwasher, let’s hope there are no dishes in heaven

Unless that’s what floats your boat

Oh Dishwasher.

If you see Camera, tell him I said hello.

Good night.

2 thoughts on “Ode to a Dishwasher

  1. Mollie W says:

    Julie, this made me laugh out loud and get a little weepy. I too go to the dishwasher when i don’t know what else to do, because it always seems to need my attention.

    • Julia says:

      Thank you for feeling my pain, Mollie! I know – dishwashers are a needy bunch, aren’t they? You’d think I’d be glad mine is dead! I guess you don’t know what you got til it’s gone…:)

Leave a Reply

Julia

Mama-isms...and so much more!

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 485 other followers

Archives

Read Diverse Books

Let's Read The World

Discover

A daily selection of the best content published on WordPress, collected for you by humans who love to read.

Things We Like

a project by jessica gross

LaMonte M. Fowler

an indie author writing to stay sane

Kelsey L. Munger

writer. storyteller.

thecolorlilac.wordpress.com/

Social Justice | Pop Culture | Black Girl Magic

One Awkward Year

wow, this is awkward . . .

The Belle Jar

"Let me live, love and say it well in good sentences." - Sylvia Plath

Joy, Lovely Joy

Writing through mothering

Fucking Awesome Bulimics I Know

Kicking that pimp called Shame in the shins.

Fit and Feminist

Because it takes strong women to smash the patriarchy.

An Honest Mom

From the hip on mindfulness, parenting, feminism and homesteading.

PRONOIA BLOG

small shares from Pronoia Coaching

James Gillingham - Long Arm Films

Thinking thoughts and making films

Jennifer Keishin Armstrong

Writing for the Pop Culture Literate.

Ginger's Grocery

Come on in and browse. The biscuits were made fresh this morning, the Slush Puppie machine was just refilled with a new bottle of red syrup, and we have the biggest selection of bait this close to town.

tressiemc

some of us are brave

Music for Deckchairs

"In shadowy, silent distance grew the iceberg too": universities, technology, work and life

my name is elizabeth

stories about race, culture, and identity

Priss & Vinegar

Lawyer by trade. Writer at heart. Housewife by accident.

Angela Tucker

Blogger / Speaker / Educator

Candice Czubernat

A leading voice in the LGBTQ and Christian dialogue

Song of the Lark

Music, melodies, mutterings

Adventures of a Teacher Nerdfighter

Building a fifth grade classroom community around enthusiasm, creativity, and awesome.

afourytale

Motherhood and other musings

Ethan Yarbrough Writes

Stories. True, Fiction and Otherwise.

