Tonight I Was Lying on the Kitchen Floor

9

April 15, 2013 by Julia

IMG_3958

Tonight I was lying on the kitchen floor, curled downward into a turtle-like ball, when Dennis got home. The kids heard his key in the lock and ran to the door to greet him with the usual ear-piercing screams. After about thirty seconds, he asked them, “Where’s Mommy?”

From my spot on the floor I yelled, “Mommy’s here. Mommy is broken.”

Dennis walked over and laughed at me. Jack got down at my eye level and tried to pull my head up. My boy always gets concerned whenever I collapse. Dennis said, “Oh no!! Who broke Mommy?!”

I actually didn’t want to sit up, much. Quesadillas were sizzling on the skillet, my daughter and I had just yelled rude things at one another (resulting in her tears and my heartache), and Jack was probably going to start screaming again (it could just as well be from excitement as out of anger; screams are equally effective at showing both emotions. Little known fact: toddler screams can express anything!). I had gone grocery shopping, picked up Fiona from school, done three loads of laundry, played Harry Potter Legos with Fiona while listening to Jack talk/scream upstairs in his crib for half an hour before finally dropping off to sleep, wrote half a page, gave them both baths, and switched out their clothes for the summer, while making piles for a supposed yard sale I may or may not decide to do.

The broken mommy bit was a little funny, but I was crying, too. I sat up and wiped tears out of my eyes. It’s crazy how a day can spin around on you, and all of a sudden you’re crying on the kitchen floor. I thought I was coping with my Monday quite well. I had gotten crap done, AND managed to stop for an hour and play with Fiona.

But the details had worn me down, apparently. The tiptoeing around tantrums (let me just sneak this diaper onto Jack while he’s not looking!), the way my 5-going-on-15-year-old daughter Fiona already questions everything I do as if I’m intentionally trying to screw up (WHY did you put my soup far away from me on the table, Mommy??), the constant, constant, constant cleaning. Constant. Constant. Never-ending. And yet, do I have a clean house? Only on certain days, if you squint enough to make everything blurry.

So those are the details that brought this mommy low. I’ve actually been struggling for a couple of weeks, now. I tend to throw around the term depression loosely, as in, “I’m depressed this morning, ha ha!” …but I might be a little depressed. I mean, we have good days, and we’re doing okay, and I’m totally functional (as a sensitive teenager I loathed it when people were referred to as functional), but I kind of feel like turning into a hermit. Temporarily. I’m sure it will pass.

Anyway, Fiona was worried about our status, I could tell. She wanted to make sure we were okay, her and me. And that made me ache, too. We had our family dinner, and Dennis got the kids laughing, and Fiona was saying to me how happy they were, and how it was a great dinner, and it ripped me open, the way she was trying to reassure me. I was grateful and guilty at the same time, and trying to keep tears from welling up while telling her that everything was okay.

There are truths that transcend these phases, the ups and the downs. The love for my family that breaks my heart open – painfully, joyfully, beautifully – is one of them.

***

P.S. I am coming back now to add a quick note, because I feel somewhat foolish after posting this, and then going to turn on the TV to find that everyone is talking about a major bombing that happened in Boston this afternoon. (Truly, some days I am disconnected from the world outside our home.) I would hate to sound insensitive, describing my day’s normal trials on a day that has been a living nightmare for some. My heart goes out to those families.

9 thoughts on “Tonight I Was Lying on the Kitchen Floor

  1. Your honesty is refreshing! Sometimes it’s nice to know others have days like that. I hope tomorrow is a much better day for you 🙂

    • Julia says:

      I have a feeling it will be…we sometimes have to hit “kitchen bottom” (sorry) before things start looking up again. 🙂 Thanks, Rachel!

  2. Lara says:

    I hear you. Totally. 100%. It’s always the days when you’re actually accomplishing something (other than the usual keeping kids alive stuff) when a meltdown is inevitable. Also, if it make you feel any better I wrote about fashion photography the day after the bombing. Not to be purposefully disrespectful but I hadn’t yet processed it all in a way that I could write about it.

    • Julia says:

      Thanks, Lara. You summed it up perfectly! Although I know that most parents must feel this way sometimes, sometimes it helps to actually hear about it. I also get you on the bombing. I don’t have anything new to add to the conversation…just the same old anger and disbelief I felt the last time something like this happened.

  3. I have been through these days too. it seems to be humming along on a day and when it falls apart it is so disappointing. The fall is longer and therefore harder. I have a care for yourself after the bombing post up now that will help even when the bomb is that little one yelling at you. It does help when I remember to do it myself. My best to you! Great blog!

  4. Julie says:

    Oh how I’ve been where you were before and all too often. Even the part about the guilt with the bombing happening. As moms, we don’t get the luxury of knowing that life goes on around us, but then again, there are times when I’m glad that I don’t. Thank God for husbands who can and will bail us out sometimes, huh? Thanks for writing about some of your rawest emotions. These blogs are the kind that help me out the most. 🙂

    • Julia says:

      Me too – the most helpful thing to me is knowing that other people struggle as much as I do sometimes. In my experience, sharing our true ups and downs is better medicine for a parent’s soul than parenting advice, any day. Thank you for your comment!

  5. […] I still laugh at that title, and I still appreciate the morbid humor, and I think “Now there’s a twelve-year-old I’d converse with!” …but that’s only because it was me and I’M BASICALLY THE SAME PERSON. I’m more mature and less sensitive and my politics have changed, but other than that…yeah, pretty much the same. These are the thoughts that run through my head as I put the fucking alphabet magnets back on the fucking refrigerator for the fifth-fuckteenth time and it’s depressing and WHY EVEN BOTHER??? And then I collapse on the kitchen floor, which I’ve already written about. […]

Leave a Reply

Julia

Mama-isms...and so much more!

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 485 other followers

Archives

Read Diverse Books

Let's Read The World

Discover

A daily selection of the best content published on WordPress, collected for you by humans who love to read.

Things We Like

a project by jessica gross

LaMonte M. Fowler

an indie author writing to stay sane

Kelsey L. Munger

writer. storyteller.

thecolorlilac.wordpress.com/

Social Justice | Pop Culture | Black Girl Magic

One Awkward Year

wow, this is awkward . . .

The Belle Jar

"Let me live, love and say it well in good sentences." - Sylvia Plath

Joy, Lovely Joy

Writing through mothering

Fucking Awesome Bulimics I Know

Kicking that pimp called Shame in the shins.

Fit and Feminist

Because it takes strong women to smash the patriarchy.

An Honest Mom

From the hip on mindfulness, parenting, feminism and homesteading.

PRONOIA BLOG

small shares from Pronoia Coaching

James Gillingham - Long Arm Films

Thinking thoughts and making films

Jennifer Keishin Armstrong

Writing for the Pop Culture Literate.

Ginger's Grocery

Come on in and browse. The biscuits were made fresh this morning, the Slush Puppie machine was just refilled with a new bottle of red syrup, and we have the biggest selection of bait this close to town.

tressiemc

some of us are brave

Music for Deckchairs

"In shadowy, silent distance grew the iceberg too": universities, technology, work and life

my name is elizabeth

stories about race, culture, and identity

Priss & Vinegar

Lawyer by trade. Writer at heart. Housewife by accident.

Angela Tucker

Blogger / Speaker / Educator

Candice Czubernat

A leading voice in the LGBTQ and Christian dialogue

Song of the Lark

Music, melodies, mutterings

Adventures of a Teacher Nerdfighter

Building a fifth grade classroom community around enthusiasm, creativity, and awesome.

afourytale

Motherhood and other musings

Ethan Yarbrough Writes

Stories. True, Fiction and Otherwise.

