That’s My Boy’s Hair!

8

February 15, 2013 by Julia

Jack is finally getting “real hair” and I keep checking in with my friend who has a five-year-old son to get her opinion on whether he needs a haircut yet, or not. Before becoming a parent, I never wanted to be one of those people who let their young son grow his hair completely out, like Kate Hudson and her little rocker. This was an unexamined judgment on my part – again, pre-parenthood – but I assumed it had something to do with parents indulging their own whims. As though they couldn’t be parted with any aspect of their precious son, and affection had clouded their judgment, because he would in my opinion look much cuter with short hair, and playground folk could stop feeling confused about whether their own kid is playing with a boy or girl. For the record, I didn’t take into account that maybe the boy himself preferred it long, and the parents didn’t think it was a battle worth fighting – which I totally respect.

And now that I have a toddler son of my own, whom I still pick up while announcing “This is a tiiiiiiiiiiiny baby!” even though he’s freakishly tall and would climb up a mountain and then rappel back down it more skillfully than I could (I only know what “rappel” means because they’re always rappelling down the sides of skyscrapers on The Bachelor), well…I get it. You see, he’s got these little blonde curls on the back of his head that make him look like a cherub. Which is especially cute because he’s more of a wild smiling charmer of an imp than a cherub. And when he gets up in the morning it’s with an endearingly crazy case of bed head, and he’s in his footsie pajamas and he’s saying “Mama, mama, mama!” And it’s him…his hair is part of him…I don’t want to cut it off! Don’t make me, society! Can’t you see?? My son is different. He can pull off the long hair, because he’s just that much more special and cute. So yes, I’ve joined the Indulgent Moms of Sons Club.

I actually sort of planned on driving him to a cheap hair salon for his first haircut yesterday. I say “sort of” because I was going through the motions of it, without actually having decided whether it was time, yet. I took lots of “before” pictures on the way to the car, so that I could write a post entitled “Jack’s First Haircut” with full illustrations. After strapping him into his car seat, I called Dennis to ask him what he thought about it. He said he thought Jack’s hair looked fine, but he didn’t object to a haircut, either. No help at all. I started driving toward a cheap hair salon. I made it to the parking lot, but did not even pull into a space; I kept on going across the street to the library. It felt anticlimactic, but it’s not as though Jack has a mullet or a rattail or flowing locks or anything. Inside the library we found a new little friend named Eddie – twenty-one months old, with curly platinum blonde hair down to his shoulders. I liked Eddie’s mom so much, and the two boys were such peas in a pod, that I made the slightly awkward move of offering her my email address so we could arrange some play dates. I could tell she adored her son. She delighted in him, just like I delight in mine.

I know I’ve mentioned the mom-son connection before, and not to keep harping on about it…but I guess I’m still just surprised by it, eighteen months later. I had not an inkling of what that particular connection felt like before Jack; I just know it kind of annoyed me to see in others (mostly adult mama’s boy situations). But the moment I found out there was a boy in my belly, and I realized I’d be able to say “my son,” I felt it. He kicked twice as hard as Fiona did in my belly, and I felt his boyishness, and I loved it, even as he knocked the wind out of me. And now he is a tantrum-throwing, running-away, picky-eating, experimenting, mess-making danger addict, and I find myself saying NO and “OHHHH, Jack” resignedly all the time, and yet, he can do no wrong in my eyes. He does wrong all the time and yet he can do no wrong, because I am his adoring mama.

I own it, people. That’s half the battle in not being annoying about it, right?

And he really doesn’t need a haircut, yet. Look at these “before” pictures. They could just as easily be “after” pictures.

IMG_2235 IMG_2236 IMG_2246 IMG_2248 IMG_2256 IMG_2259 IMG_2264 IMG_2268 IMG_2273 IMG_2275 IMG_2280

8 thoughts on “That’s My Boy’s Hair!

  1. emmie says:

    You are hilarious! I love that you took before pics and then never went through with it. Babies should stay babies as long as possible. It all already moves too quickly.

  2. heidibird says:

    Too cute. I was just the opposite and shaved my sons hair all the way down this summer because it was crazy looking and hot. When it grew back out it went through this weird awkward stage but it is finally looking normal again.

    • Julia says:

      It’s easier with a girl! You can let it grow out until you’re ready to cut it. There is often some contoversy about whether or not to do bangs, however.

  3. He is cute and precious and all boy whether he’s a long curly blonde or has a buzz cut! He reminds me of his uncle Ben.

  4. alissaenders says:

    I’ve never thought his hair looked too long. I had never thought about a boy having longish hair either and yet Liam loves his hair even more than Legos and Star Wars and so he has probably the longest hair in their class. I figure there are bigger fish to fry in life.

    Jack will be a cutie patootie either way!

Leave a Reply

Julia

Mama-isms...and so much more!

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 494 other followers

Archives

Read Diverse Books

Let's Read The World

Discover

A daily selection of the best content published on WordPress, collected for you by humans who love to read.

Things We Like

a project by jessica gross

LaMonte M. Fowler

an indie author writing to stay sane

Kelsey L. Munger

writer. storyteller.

thecolorlilac.wordpress.com/

Social Justice | Pop Culture | Black Girl Magic

One Awkward Year

wow, this is awkward . . .

The Belle Jar

"Let me live, love and say it well in good sentences." - Sylvia Plath

Joy, Lovely Joy

Writing through mothering

Fucking Awesome Bulimics I Know

Kicking that pimp called Shame in the shins.

Fit and Feminist

Because it takes strong women to smash the patriarchy.

An Honest Mom

From the hip on mindfulness, parenting, feminism and homesteading.

PRONOIA BLOG

small shares from Pronoia Coaching

James Gillingham - Long Arm Films

Thinking thoughts and making films

Jennifer Keishin Armstrong

Writing for the Pop Culture Literate.

Ginger's Grocery

Come on in and browse. The biscuits were made fresh this morning, the Slush Puppie machine was just refilled with a new bottle of red syrup, and we have the biggest selection of bait this close to town.

tressiemc

some of us are brave

Music for Deckchairs

"In shadowy, silent distance grew the iceberg too": universities, technology, work and life

my name is elizabeth

stories about race, culture, and identity

Priss & Vinegar

Lawyer by trade. Writer at heart. Housewife by accident.

Angela Tucker

Blogger / Speaker / Educator

Candice Czubernat

A leading voice in the LGBTQ and Christian dialogue

Song of the Lark

Music, melodies, mutterings

Adventures of a Teacher Nerdfighter

Building a fifth grade classroom community around enthusiasm, creativity, and awesome.

afourytale

Motherhood and other musings

Ethan Yarbrough Writes

Stories. True, Fiction and Otherwise.

