Why I don’t diet anymore.

14

December 1, 2012 by Julia

I started obsessing about my weight at around twelve years old, when I realized that some chubbiness had developed in my face. It was like baby fat had skipped over the golden years of childhood and landed smack into my preteens. No matter that my stomach at the time was quite flat. I started to feel guilty for every piece of cheese I ate, every cookie. Weight-related anxiety was with me most of the time. If not in the forefront of my mind, then lurking, waiting to rear it’s ugly head – in a bad photo, or the realization that my girlfriend’s thighs were more slender than mine when she sat next to me on the couch. My weight fluctuated often. Never to the point of obesity or emaciation, but those fifteen-twenty pounds or so that came and went throughout the teenage years and twenties were enough to devastate me. Really devastate me. The other day, I actually found a food and exercise journal from when I was fourteen, and it broke my heart a little, to think of my fragile, aching self, writing all this stuff down.

 

I know I was not alone in this experience. I know that I am not the only one who has actually thought to herself: I’d rather be thin than happy. I know girls and women, especially, have a constant calorie counter in the back of their minds, telling them whether it’s been a bad day (you ate too much, you’re a disgusting failure) or a good day (you’re totally in control, you’re going to be thin, or you are already thin). I have a feeling that the majority of women began to feel this way around the same time that I did – right on the cusp of adolescence, as if we didn’t already have enough to deal with at that age. This mindset has been a big part of my experience of life for about twenty years. It sucks.

 

I should say: it sucked, because I am so over it. I don’t think that way anymore. There are lots of reasons why. The first being: those beliefs are crazy. CRAZY. I’d rather be thin than happy? WTF. What kind of sense does that make?

 

There are better, more important things to expend our energy on. I know that for some people, the pursuit of health and attractiveness through nutrition and exercise provides great pleasure and a deep sense of well-being and strength and confidence. But for many others, so much mental and physical manipulation and misery goes into dieting and exercise that I can’t help but think we are wasting our true selves away on this stuff. If I am concentrating so hard on what I can or can’t eat, I’m not as engaged in reading or writing or playing with the kids. And let’s not even get into the grumpiness that hunger induces. If I am hungry all the time, it will be harder for me to be good to the ones I love. Simple as that.

 

Another reason I stopped dieting is that it made me unhappy. I couldn’t take the emotional roller coaster anymore. The shameful cycle of either being a fat failure or a skinny success was hurting me, and I’d lived with it for so long; I was tired. I wanted to just hang out in the middle somewhere – which was where I usually ended up anyway, despite my best efforts to attain some ideal. Freeing myself from the craziness sounded like the definition of relief. To just eat when I was hungry, splurge if I wanted to taste something fun, not eat if I wasn’t enjoying the food, not cave to social pressures either way…basically, follow my cravings without worrying about whether or not they’d make me fat, or what others would think of my eating habits. Wouldn’t we all love to do that, if we were given some magical guarantee that we could also be thin? Can you imagine the freedom? Think of the mental space it would clear.

 

But I don’t think we need magic to eat what we want and maintain a healthy weight. If we were able to quit the dieting mindset, and actually listen to our bodies, I think we’d end up in a pretty good place. Yes, some nights all we’ll want is a family-sized bag of Doritos and a tub of ice cream, but we’re not going to want that every night. Once you take the “forbidden” part of forbidden foods away, they get old much more quickly. In the end, if you trust yourself, it will all even out in the end. Doctors say that you can’t judge a toddler’s nutrition by what they happen to eat in a day. Look at the whole week, or even longer. Some days we’ll be hungrier, some days we might not even be that concerned with food. There is no one-size-fits-all formula for eating – we’re different people with different tastes. If we follow our own particular cravings, I still think we’ll end up with some combination of all the food groups we need. And as far as quantity goes, we are not going to stuff ourselves beyond capacity, all the time. Why would we, if we believe we can eat as much as we want to the next day, or even in a couple of hours? There is no rush, no panic to get it all in.

 

I’ve found that shame-induced dietary restrictions usually just backfire. In most cases it will not make you permanently thinner. Nor is it a good motivator for finding health. I doubt that it is even helpful in the case of obesity. Speaking from experience with diets, I know that on the days that I felt good about my body, and myself, I naturally ate in a healthier way. On the days that I felt I was failing my diet, or that I was fat or ugly, I felt that I was sliding down a shame spiral into a bottomless pit of insatiability. Positive regard for oneself is surely one of the best fuels for a healthy relationship with food. The minute I feel guilt start to creep in, after a day of what felt like overeating, I just tell myself that it’s okay. It’s not the end of the world. And it’s still not the end of the world if I eat just as much the next day. I know that if I trust myself, I’ll want to stop eating when the time is right. And I do, often enough, and easily enough. (An aside: I know that strict diets are necessary for some people, especially if prescribed by their doctor, and of course I don’t pretend to know what is best for everyone. But I do honestly believe that in every case, shame is a fairly useless tool for achieving healthy eating habits.)

 

Now, I don’t think everyone is going to be movie-star thin while eating whatever they want. But part of the point is to be okay with that.

 

It’s hard to be okay with our appearance, I know, even if our weight is decidedly average. We can frame anything as “just wanting to be healthy,” but those extra ten pounds are still bothering us, and not because they’re affecting our “health” much. Who do we need to be this perfect specimen of the human body for? Personally, I am past the point of wanting to attract a mate for life. (Got him already, and we’re pretty happy with each other’s level of attractiveness.) So why else do I want to be attractive? So I can be the hot mama in the yoga pants at the play date, plunging the other women who aren’t quite so tight into puddles of self-loathing? (Not that I’ve EVER been that woman, for the record. I’ve been the puddle on those occasions.) What does that accomplish? Do I want to compete with Stepford wife frenemies, or hang out with real ladies who are all different kinds of beautiful, but may not have had time to shower this week? Um, the latter, please. I don’t expect bodily perfection from my loved ones – I prefer them to be themselves, “flaws” and all. Remember when Jennifer Grey (Baby from Dirty Dancing) got a nose job and became virtually unrecognizable? I rest my case. Physical loveliness comes in a wide variety of forms, and if you embrace your own style, your own self, others will be able to see that beauty, too. I saw it once in a women’s spa, full of nude ladies in various states of wear and tear and wrinkles and luminosity. They were all beautiful.

 

Anyway, I’m not discounting the need we all have to feel attractive, even if we’ve found our mate and are surrounded by good friends. I just value a different kind of attractiveness more highly now, and I believe that I can be it myself, without necessarily being the skinniest lady in the room (or the 4th or 5th skinniest). Attractiveness to me is being comfortable in your own skin, having a personal style that comes naturally, enjoying yourself, paying attention to the world, using your brain and laughing and empathizing and showing kindness, maintaining self-respect. That is the person I want to be, and hang out with. The physical beauty will shine through if those other things are also happening. The heart does not care about an extra ten or fifty or one hundred pounds, if someone is confident and good and fun. No one is going to notice that I am bloat-y one night if I am truly enjoying the party. And if they do, and it makes them feel superior about their own lack of bloatiness, who gives a bleep? Am I right, or am I right? You know it.

 

All of this brilliance is not solely my own. The shame-free eating revolution began for me when I picked up a book that spoke deeply to me on this subject, written by two nutritionists. I highly recommend it. Two and half years later, I still believe in it. (A lot longer than I ever stuck to a diet.)

51OmgdrsNeL__BO2,204,203,200_PIsitb-sticker-arrow-click,TopRight,35,-76_AA300_SH20_OU01_

http://www.amazon.com/Intuitive-Eating-Edition-Evelyn-Tribole/dp/1250004047/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1354420747&sr=8-1&keywords=intuitive+eating

The ultimate test was when I got pregnant with Jack right about when I felt I had finally made peace with food and my body…that’ll throw you for a loop, with the hormones and nausea and obviously the weight gain. After he was born, I was pretty uncomfortable with the extra weight I had to lose, but I really didn’t want to diet. It went against my personal principles, for myself! I kept hoping I wouldn’t have to diet. And I didn’t have to. Most of the weight came off slowly and surely, over the course of a year, (with a lot less stress than it did the first time with Fiona) and has plateau-ed at the most average weight I’ve been during my adult life. If you must know (we love to compare, don’t we?) I am basically a size eight, and my BMI was acceptable last time I checked. Of course, there are other changes to my body from the pregnancy. Not sure if I ever want to wear a two-piece swimsuit again. I’m sure I could change that if I did sit-ups every day. But that does not sound fulfilling or fun or worthwhile to me, so I’m not going to.

 

Now if I could just go back and give my fourteen-year-old self a hug, tell her she was pretty, and that there are much more interesting things to write than a guilt-riddled account of what she ate that day.

14 thoughts on “Why I don’t diet anymore.

  1. It’s hard to undo a lifetime of programming. As I get older, I find that I am much less interested in looking good than I am in feeling good. We were taught that in the wrong order in those early years!

  2. Lisa says:

    I liked this post, Julie…

  3. […] time, aren’t we? I already wrote about this once, and I don’t want to repeat all of the reasons I don’t diet anymore, but I do want to say that since then I’ve felt more roly-poly and uncomfortable in my own skin, […]

  4. […] remember how I swore I’d never diet again? And then I wrote about still feeling uncomfortable with my current body, but not knowing what to […]

  5. […] get it. I should mention here that one of my most-viewed posts (over a year later) is about how I refuse to go on a diet. It’s follow-up is also pretty popular. (By popular I mean, oh – one person searched for […]

  6. Barfbag says:

    I so agree, and completely relate to your beautiful story (thank you). Shame, I heard someone clever say the other day, is the cloak of pride. Living and eating without shame frees up a whole lot of headspace and I feel sad it can take half life-time to figure that out. Like you, I didn’t really stop beating myself up in my head about good and bad food until after children, when I finally had some respect and love for my body. Beauty shines out of smiles, but when we’re counting and calculating and working out calories and fearing getting fat we’re frowning.

    • Julia says:

      Thank you for reading and commenting! I couldn’t agree more about life experience (including having kids) forcing me to adjust my perspective to a more self-accepting one…which has been so liberating.

  7. Eva Tafolo says:

    Great story – one I really did relate to all the way – until the end of the story where, of course, you still manage to rub in my face that you are now a size 8 – even without dieting and that I can manage this achievement too – if I buy your book ! How disappointing that I feel sucked in yet again by yet another food and diet ” guru ” just wanting my money !

    • Julia says:

      I am so sorry you read this that way, Eva! I actually wrote this a while ago and now I want to re-read it, but first I want to respond to your two concerns. I am not selling any books or diets, and I don’t make a profit from blogging – my only intention was to recommend a book that I found helpful, which was written by other women. The other issue, of me being a size 8, is no longer an issue because I’m a size 11 these days, ha. But I am sorry to be insensitive to readers who are actually obese or seriously struggle with being overweight. In my mind, I have always struggled with weight issues, too – which might be some form of body dysmorphia. The self-loathing I describe is real, though – I have felt it, and still struggle with it in relation to my appearance. I still don’t diet, but I do wish I weighed less than I do, and I constantly wonder if I am living in the best way…if I should try harder, eat less, force myself to care more about looking good. I realize that might sound ridiculous to someone who struggles with true obesity, but I do think the majority of women feel the same as I do even when they are a size 4. Anyway, I am truly sorry if you felt cheated or hurt by this post. I may go back and edit it when I get a chance.

  8. Eva Tafolo says:

    Hi Julia,
    Thanks for your reply, I appreciate that and realise now that you are genuine.Having struggled with an eating disorder for most of my life, I guess that sometimes I get very disillusioned with the number of weight -loss and diet blogs out there.I know there really is no quick-fix solution and that self-acceptance is probably the key.As I said, I really did relate to your story. Im an Australian size 14 to 16 which is not obese, but I’m always wanting to be smaller – even at age 55.I wonder if I’ll still feel this way at 75 ( if I live that long ) or if it will even be that important as long as I’m healthy ? Please excuse my negativity and thanks again for your answer.

    • Julia says:

      It’s okay, Eva – I am wary of any sales pitches or quick-fixes myself, especially in the blogging world. I totally agree that self acceptance is the key to eating well and living healthily – I know, because when I feel bad about myself I binge, and when I feel caring toward myself I eat what makes me feel good in a healthier way, paying attention to when I’m full. I go through good and bad phases, usually wishing to be thinner, but at the same time wanting to just live my life and be healthy for the “right reasons,” without torturing myself over it. I am so tired of the dieting mindset and hope to never fall into that trap again. I’ve never been diagnosed with an eating disorder, but I do think I’ve suffered from disordered eating patterns on and off throughout my life, and it is painful. I feel for any woman who has suffered this way…which I think is actually the majority of women. It makes me sad for women in general. Your first comment was actually helpful to me in a way, though – it made me realize that so much of how we view ourselves is relative. While I’d probably be deemed overweight in Hollywood, people who suffer from diagnosed obesity might look at me with envy. It helps to put things in perspective and be thankful for the body that I do have, and to care for it. Thank you for reading and taking the time to have this conversation. I hope you can find acceptance and peace with yourself (easier said than done, I know)! As with anything, I guess it will be a lifelong process for us. And I have no idea what an Australian size 14 to 16 looks like, but I think maybe it doesn’t matter. And sometimes I wear a size 12. 🙂

  9. Eva Tafolo says:

    Hi Julia,
    It was lovely to read your reply – thank you so much for that, it means a lot to me and has put things in perspective.An American size 12 is the same as an Australian size 16.As you say it shouldn’t matter as long as we are healthy, are good, decent people and look fine dressed up.Life is too short to obssess about making ourselves miserable with dieting, depriving ourselves and comparing ourselves to other people.
    All my best wishes and good luck to you in the future !

Leave a Reply

Julia

Mama-isms...and so much more!

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 485 other followers

Archives

Read Diverse Books

Let's Read The World

Discover

A daily selection of the best content published on WordPress, collected for you by humans who love to read.

Things We Like

a project by jessica gross

LaMonte M. Fowler

an indie author writing to stay sane

Kelsey L. Munger

writer. storyteller.

thecolorlilac.wordpress.com/

Social Justice | Pop Culture | Black Girl Magic

One Awkward Year

wow, this is awkward . . .

The Belle Jar

"Let me live, love and say it well in good sentences." - Sylvia Plath

Joy, Lovely Joy

Writing through mothering

Fucking Awesome Bulimics I Know

Kicking that pimp called Shame in the shins.

Fit and Feminist

Because it takes strong women to smash the patriarchy.

An Honest Mom

From the hip on mindfulness, parenting, feminism and homesteading.

PRONOIA BLOG

small shares from Pronoia Coaching

James Gillingham - Long Arm Films

Thinking thoughts and making films

Jennifer Keishin Armstrong

Writing for the Pop Culture Literate.

Ginger's Grocery

Come on in and browse. The biscuits were made fresh this morning, the Slush Puppie machine was just refilled with a new bottle of red syrup, and we have the biggest selection of bait this close to town.

tressiemc

some of us are brave

Music for Deckchairs

"In shadowy, silent distance grew the iceberg too": universities, technology, work and life

my name is elizabeth

stories about race, culture, and identity

Priss & Vinegar

Lawyer by trade. Writer at heart. Housewife by accident.

Angela Tucker

Blogger / Speaker / Educator

Candice Czubernat

A leading voice in the LGBTQ and Christian dialogue

Song of the Lark

Music, melodies, mutterings

Adventures of a Teacher Nerdfighter

Building a fifth grade classroom community around enthusiasm, creativity, and awesome.

afourytale

Motherhood and other musings

Ethan Yarbrough Writes

Stories. True, Fiction and Otherwise.

