A Piece of Meandering Crap Full of Pompous Language

8

November 20, 2012 by Julia

This weekend was hard. Dennis was at a conference benefiting his work for four days.

Before he left I was all, “I’ve totes done this before on my own, back when Jack wasn’t even sleeping through the night! We survived, and even thrived at moments! …And Dennis needs to go because it will be super-inspiring for him, and a good getaway with work friends! …Also, I’ve been feeling the need for a little solitude, now that Fiona no longer naps, and I am hardly ever alone anymore. After the kids’ bedtime I can watch a little Real Housewives with no comments from the husband peanut gallery, write to my heart’s content, have cereal for dinner, etc. So it’s all good, for everyone!”

Heh. And then I got the head cold from hell. And Fiona decided that she’s too scared to stay in bed by herself anymore. And Jack is teething. And I actually felt isolated dealing with all this at home, rather than pleasantly on my own. Gone were my idealized evenings of wine and Housewives and writing; hello, daughter who runs out of bed every two minutes while I try to stay awake enough to finish reading one paragraph out of my book. The other thing that bothered me all weekend was my blog post from Friday night, which I’d written at a low point after putting Fiona back to bed 15 times (literally). I still agree with the sentiment of it (that kids don’t really listen to their mother’s advice because they want to figure things out on their own, just like we wanted to as kids), but I was afraid to go back and read it after posting, out of this nagging fear that it was a piece of meandering crap full of pompous language, which I totally hate. And this crap post pops out right after I create a Facebook page for friends to follow me. Of course. How humiliating.

Also, my sister said on Saturday, in reference to my blog, “Sounds like you’re stressed out…all the time.” I immediately jumped to the conclusion that everyone sees me as melodramatic and overly stressed by life, which I assume would be tiresome to read in a blog. (Actually, if your blog were like that, I’d probably follow you, ha.) I shared these insecurities with her, and she denied that it was true, but still. I am sensitive lately to being called anxious. I go around assuming everyone else in the world feels just as stressed out as I do – isn’t it human nature, to some degree? – and when it’s implied that I’m the only one who falls apart at the seams once a week on average, I get paranoid that it might be one of my defining personality traits to the people around me. Like, “Ugh, here comes Julia to complain about how hard her life is because she couldn’t get her laundry done.”

I usually like it when other people complain. One of my favorite things in the world is commiseration. But I know not everyone feels that way. They might not want to hear it, especially considering how good I actually have it, in all the ways that really matter.

That’s the other thing. I have it so good. Surely that means tragedy will befall me soon, right?

And that’s what I call finding “the joy underneath!”

P.S. While I was writing this, Fiona got out of her bed 35 times.

8 thoughts on “A Piece of Meandering Crap Full of Pompous Language

  1. Did you at least get to eat cereal for dinner? Gosh I hope so!

    • juliaorjulie says:

      I ate so much cereal I actually stopped liking it a little bit (a tragedy in itself, which I’m sure won’t last long), and resorted to ramen noodles on the last night, because I couldn’t deal with ordering chinese over the phone!

  2. “They might not want to hear it, especially considering how good I actually have it, in all the ways that really matter.”

    I always feel guilty when I gripe, but you soon discover that these experiences are pretty universal and there’s always somebody who says “yeah, that is exactly how I feel.” Children both kill and raise expectations of one’s life. The evening that you really look forward to relaxing and reading, somebody is thirsty, hungry, scared or decides that painting the wall with diaper creme would be awesome. On the other hand, a boring trip to the grocery store ends up being a funny conversation with your child that you get to retell 400 times. You’re just never able to plan these things!

    • juliaorjulie says:

      So true. Writing this blog has been helpful in evaluating my own frame of mind, my own expectations, and whether or not I could use an adult-sized attitude adjustment. Thanks for commiserating!

  3. hannahg20 says:

    Julia,

    Just wanted to say thank you so much for your honesty. I love your blog and look forward to when I go to my Google Reader, and there is a new one to read. Please keep writing and sharing–it makes me feel sane!!

    Happy Thanksgiving!

    Hannah

  4. Samantha says:

    Next time the boys go out of town we need to set up a time to get together. Ps- I love your blog. I know I am reading these post late but I am enjoying reading them!

    • juliaorjulie says:

      Thank you so much for all of your comments, Sam! I’m so glad you’re enjoying my posts! I would love to hang out soon and check out your baby bump. I’m honored that some of this stuff is getting you excited for parenthood. Yay! And we love the name Desmond. Boys are SO fun!

Leave a Reply

Julia

Mama-isms...and so much more!

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 476 other followers

Archives

Read Diverse Books

Let's Read The World

Discover

A daily selection of the best content published on WordPress, collected for you by humans who love to read.

Things We Like

a project by jessica gross

LaMonte M. Fowler

an indie author writing to stay sane

Kelsey L. Munger

writer. storyteller.

thecolorlilac.wordpress.com/

Social Justice | Pop Culture | Black Girl Magic

One Awkward Year

wow, this is awkward . . .

The Belle Jar

"Let me live, love and say it well in good sentences." - Sylvia Plath

Joy, Lovely Joy

Writing through mothering

Fucking Awesome Bulimics I Know

Kicking that pimp called Shame in the shins.

Fit and Feminist

Because it takes strong women to smash the patriarchy.

An Honest Mom

From the hip on mindfulness, parenting, feminism and homesteading.

PRONOIA BLOG

small shares from Pronoia Coaching

James Gillingham - Long Arm Films

Thinking thoughts and making films

Jennifer Keishin Armstrong

Writer, Teacher, Pop Culture Nerd.

Salad At Midnight

Real Life, Real Conversations

Ginger's Grocery

Come on in and browse. The biscuits were made fresh this morning, the Slush Puppie machine was just refilled with a new bottle of red syrup, and we have the biggest selection of bait this close to town.

tressiemc

some of us are brave

Music for Deckchairs

"In shadowy, silent distance grew the iceberg too": universities, technology, work and life

my name is elizabeth

stories about race, culture, and identity

Priss & Vinegar

Lawyer by trade. Writer at heart. Housewife by accident.

Angela Tucker

Blogger / Speaker / Educator

Candice Czubernat

A leading voice in the LGBTQ and Christian dialogue

Song of the Lark

Music, melodies, mutterings

Adventures of a Teacher Nerdfighter

Building a fifth grade classroom community around enthusiasm, creativity, and awesome.

afourytale

Motherhood and other musings

