Death by Cleaning

9

October 26, 2012 by Julia

I know people have theoretically died of a broken heart. Sometimes I feel like I might die of cleaning. Around 5:30 pm, I can’t see my way out. The other morning I sat on an unpeeled banana that Jack had left on the couch, and I unknowingly mashed it everywhere as I wrestled a brush through the tangles in Fiona’s hair. Isn’t that a lovely image?

When they perform my autopsy next week, I assume they’ll find three causes of death:

  1. Exhaustion/frustration/depression due to excessive, futile exercises in cleaning house
  2. Stresssssssss
  3. Sensory overload (due to nonstop needy noises and lack of personal space), resulting in my brain shutting down

 

A big part of this is all of the weddings this month. As I mentioned before – I LOVE being at weddings, especially when they involve people near and dear to my heart. But I hate packing. And because every time we leave the house with both kids we require 1 to approximately 20 bags, there has been a lot of packing this month. And while I pack, the kids destroy. I protect the luggage; everything else goes down the shitter. (Luckily, not literally – yet.)

One Saturday morning I was mentally immobilized by the quagmire of it all. I realized later the thing that makes packing so hard is the preparation for worst-case scenarios. And when you combine the worst-case scenarios involving children AND a wedding, that’s a lot of “just in case” crap. Fiona was going to be the flower girl, and I could imagine her rejecting her new shoes midway down the aisle (sensitive feet) and possibly throwing them at a groomsman just to make her point. Hence the 4 pairs of backup shoes that I kept moving into different bags. Should these be in my purse? They don’t fit. Put them a random plastic bag? Or a tote bag. But all of my tote bags are full. And at least with a plastic bag, everyone knows you aren’t trying. It’s just a plastic bag, not a fashion faux pas.  Okay, do I need an icepack for the groomsman’s head? How will I keep the icepack cold until Fiona throws her shoes mid-ceremony? (This is my brain. This is my brain while packing for children.) Dennis asked at one point, “Do you want me to carry some bags out to the car?” and I responded, “No. What I want you to do is take me out back and shoot me.” He pointed out that we don’t actually have a backyard. Ugh! It’s always something!

Anyway, I am piecing together this blog post from other random snippets I’ve written this month, when I should be PACKING UP THE DIAPER BAG as usual. Mary Poppins had it so freaking easy. Whatever she needed was just in that magical carpetbag. God forbid I forget the Spacetime Goldfish Supremes, or whatever.

Also, this was supposed to be about death by cleaning, not packing. How about both?

9 thoughts on “Death by Cleaning

  1. Lisa says:

    Your use of “quagmire” made me think of the Quagmire Triplets in “A Series of Unfortunate Events” books – apparently both appropriate there and in your blog. :/

  2. Lisa says:

    Also… lol@Dennis’s backyard comment

  3. Hahaha, I am rolling on the floor. This is by far the funniest blog article I have read in weeks.

  4. Brittany says:

    On a brighter note, no shoes were thrown!

  5. Kerrie says:

    Hello! I know this is kinda off topic but I was wondering if you knew where I could get a captcha plugin for my comment form?
    I’m using the same blog platform as yours and I’m having problems finding
    one? Thanks a lot!

  6. […] know how I feel about packing up the family for big outings or trips. It’s gotten easier since I decided this year to truly […]

Leave a Reply

Julia

Mama-isms...and so much more!

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 485 other followers

Archives

Read Diverse Books

Let's Read The World

Discover

A daily selection of the best content published on WordPress, collected for you by humans who love to read.

Things We Like

a project by jessica gross

LaMonte M. Fowler

an indie author writing to stay sane

Kelsey L. Munger

writer. storyteller.

thecolorlilac.wordpress.com/

Social Justice | Pop Culture | Black Girl Magic

One Awkward Year

wow, this is awkward . . .

The Belle Jar

"Let me live, love and say it well in good sentences." - Sylvia Plath

Joy, Lovely Joy

Writing through mothering

Fucking Awesome Bulimics I Know

Kicking that pimp called Shame in the shins.

Fit and Feminist

Because it takes strong women to smash the patriarchy.

An Honest Mom

From the hip on mindfulness, parenting, feminism and homesteading.

PRONOIA BLOG

small shares from Pronoia Coaching

James Gillingham - Long Arm Films

Thinking thoughts and making films

Jennifer Keishin Armstrong

Writing for the Pop Culture Literate.

Ginger's Grocery

Come on in and browse. The biscuits were made fresh this morning, the Slush Puppie machine was just refilled with a new bottle of red syrup, and we have the biggest selection of bait this close to town.

tressiemc

some of us are brave

Music for Deckchairs

"In shadowy, silent distance grew the iceberg too": universities, technology, work and life

my name is elizabeth

stories about race, culture, and identity

Priss & Vinegar

Lawyer by trade. Writer at heart. Housewife by accident.

Angela Tucker

Blogger / Speaker / Educator

Candice Czubernat

A leading voice in the LGBTQ and Christian dialogue

Song of the Lark

Music, melodies, mutterings

Adventures of a Teacher Nerdfighter

Building a fifth grade classroom community around enthusiasm, creativity, and awesome.

afourytale

Motherhood and other musings

Ethan Yarbrough Writes

Stories. True, Fiction and Otherwise.

