What Not to Wear, Fiona Edition

Leave a comment

October 2, 2012 by Julia

The good news is Fiona will finally dress herself in the morning without my help. The other good news is that she has accepted pants again, after a year of only dresses.

The bad news is, she is not open to suggestions about what to wear. It’s not cute, people. You know how some moms strive for an “adorably mismatched” look on their daughters? Tutus, rain boots, pigtails, polka dots and stripes in the exact same color scheme? This is not that.

This is more like, “Her mom didn’t think it wise to intervene?” mismatched. If we didn’t manage to get her impossibly long hair brushed, people would assume she was homeless. This morning I came downstairs after Dennis had gotten up with the kids, and said to her, “Okay, let’s go get dressed for school!” and she responded, “But I am dressed!” and Dennis and I cracked up. I honestly thought she was wearing pajamas.

Her outfit consisted of ballet-slipper socks, ¾ length rainbow striped leggings, and a dark gray and blue floral print thermal shirt, long-sleeved.

Against my better judgment, I tried to convince her to change. “You can choose the leggings or the shirt – just not both together, okay?”

She declared, “Mommy, it doesn’t matter if things match!”

An aside: we have lots of discussion these days about what matters. As in, “How much does it matter if I wash my hands after I go potty?” or “How much does it matter if I don’t feel like saying sorry?” (Answer to that one: a lot.)

Sometimes when we disagree* about something, I need to stop and re-evaluate what I am trying to accomplish with our debate**. I knew the other 4-year-olds at her preschool wouldn’t care about what she was wearing. I knew she wouldn’t freeze or be too hot. There was no social or physical discomfort that I had to protect her from – one could say that you shouldn’t always protect your child from such natural consequences of their actions, anyway – and obviously nothing about her chosen outfit would hurt anyone else.

My motivation in trying to change her mind was superficial and centered around the image I’d prefer to project as a mom. The only thing she’d hurt was my vanity. The worst-case scenario was that someone I didn’t know would think Fiona looked weird, and would thereby judge me. I wasn’t worried about what my actual friends might think.

So I had to stop and ask, “How much does it matter if other parents judge me based on how my daughter is dressed?” The answer is: not much.

What matters is that Fiona understands I value her opinion more than the opinions of strangers. What matters is that she feel confident in her own style, in her own ability to pick what she wants, as far as she able to without running into an appropriate boundary we’ve put in place. (Such as, trying to wear a swimsuit to school in the dead of winter.)

And anything truly hideous or ill fitting, I can sneak out of her dresser when she’s not looking.

*have screaming matches

**battle of the wills

Leave a Reply

Julia

Mama-isms...and so much more!

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 495 other followers

Archives

Read Diverse Books

Let's Read The World

Discover

A daily selection of the best content published on WordPress, collected for you by humans who love to read.

Things We Like

a project by jessica gross

LaMonte M. Fowler

an indie author writing to stay sane

Kelsey L. Munger

writer. storyteller.

thecolorlilac.wordpress.com/

Social Justice | Pop Culture | Black Girl Magic

One Awkward Year

wow, this is awkward . . .

The Belle Jar

"Let me live, love and say it well in good sentences." - Sylvia Plath

Joy, Lovely Joy

Writing through mothering

Fucking Awesome Bulimics I Know

Kicking that pimp called Shame in the shins.

Fit and Feminist

Because it takes strong women to smash the patriarchy.

An Honest Mom

From the hip on mindfulness, parenting, feminism and homesteading.

PRONOIA BLOG

small shares from Pronoia Coaching

James Gillingham - Long Arm Films

Thinking thoughts and making films

Jennifer Keishin Armstrong

Writing for the Pop Culture Literate.

Ginger's Grocery

Come on in and browse. The biscuits were made fresh this morning, the Slush Puppie machine was just refilled with a new bottle of red syrup, and we have the biggest selection of bait this close to town.

tressiemc

some of us are brave

Music for Deckchairs

"In shadowy, silent distance grew the iceberg too": universities, technology, work and life

my name is elizabeth

stories about race, culture, and identity

Priss & Vinegar

Lawyer by trade. Writer at heart. Housewife by accident.

Angela Tucker

Blogger / Speaker / Educator

Candice Czubernat

A leading voice in the LGBTQ and Christian dialogue

Song of the Lark

Music, melodies, mutterings

Adventures of a Teacher Nerdfighter

Building a fifth grade classroom community around enthusiasm, creativity, and awesome.

afourytale

Motherhood and other musings

Ethan Yarbrough Writes

Stories. True, Fiction and Otherwise.

